Tottenham 2-1 Fulham: Spurs bank maximum points against Cottagers

Tottenham Hotspur vs Fulham
Photo Credit: AP

Tottenham Hotspur beat Fulham with a 2-1 victory on Saturday at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium. Spurs were on the hunt for more points following a disappointing 1-1 draw with West Ham United in their previous game whilst Fulham were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Brighton & Hove Albion in their last match. Spurs and Fulham currently occupy 2nd and 10th spots in the league, with 14 points and 8 points respectively after 6 matches.

Spurs started the match strongly, with a goal from Pierre Hojbjerg just before half-time

The Lilywhites continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Harry Kane on the 75 minute mark. The Cottagers in turn, then responded, at 83 minutes, grabbing the lead with an effort from Aleksandar Mitrovic, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Spurs included Dejan Kulusevski and Ivan Perisic for Harry Kane and Heung Min Son, respectively. Fulham brought on Kevin Mbabu, Tom Cairney, Willian, Daniel James and Carlos Vinicius, to replace Antonee Robinson, Andreas Pereira, Neeskens Kebano, Bobby Reid and Joao Palhinha.

There were bookings for Cristian Romero, Rodrigo Bentancur and Richarlison from Spurs. For Fulham, Kenny Tete, Bobby Reid, Joao Palhinha and Aleksandar Mitrovic saw yellow.

Spurs will next play Manchester City away, with Fulham facing Chelsea at home.

Technical card:
Tottenham Hotspur:Hugo Lloris, Clement Lenglet, Cristian Romero, Eric Dier, Emerson, Rodrigo Bentancur, Pierre Hojbjerg, Ryan Sessegnon, Heung Min Son (Ivan Perisic, min.84), Richarlison and Harry Kane (Dejan Kulusevski, min.78)
Fulham:Bernd Leno, Kenny Tete, Tim Ream, Tosin Adarabioyo, Antonee Robinson (Kevin Mbabu, min.29), Bobby Reid (Daniel James, min.61), Harrison Reed, Andreas Pereira (Tom Cairney, min.60), Joao Palhinha (Carlos Vinicius, min.84), Neeskens Kebano (Willian, min.61) and Aleksandar Mitrovic
Stadium:Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Goals:Pierre Hojbjerg (1-0, min. 40), Harry Kane (2-0, min. 75) and Aleksandar Mitrovic (2-1, min. 83)