Internacional 3 – Palmeiras 0: Bad day for visitors at Estadio Beira-Rio

Photo Credit: AP

Internacional defeated Palmeiras 3-0 on Sunday at Estadio Beira-Rio. Both Internacional and Palmeiras arrived at the challenge after previous wins. Internacional were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches in the competition. The most recent was against the São Paulo away (1-0), the other to Athletico Paranaense at home (2-0). Palmeiras were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-1 victory against America Mineiro. Following this match, Internacional and Palmeiras are 2nd (73 points) and 1st (81 points) in the final table respectively, after a total of 38 matches.

Internacional started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Mauricio opened the rout in the 10th minute. Internacional then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Alemao, 39 minutes in, to take a 2-0 lead into half time.

Internacional once more applied the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, when Braian Romero found the net just before the full time. They managed to close the match out with a clean sheet and a well-earned of 3-0 victory.

Substitutions for Internacional included Lucas Ramos, Pedro Henrique, Estevao, Braian Romero and Igor for Taison, Mauricio, Matheus Dias, Alemao and Fabricio Bustos, respectively. Palmeiras brought on Gabriel Menino, Bruno Tabata, Jose Manuel Lopez, Rafael Navarro and Giovani, to replace Gustavo Scarpa, Eduard Atuesta, Endrick Felipe Moreira de Sousa, Rony and Dudu.

There were bookings for Alemao and Lucas Ramos from Internacional. For Palmeiras, Eduard Atuesta, Endrick Felipe Moreira de Sousa and Jose Manuel Lopez saw yellow.

Technical card:
Internacional:Keiller, Fabricio Bustos (Igor, min.89), Vitao, Gabriel Mercado, Rene, Mauricio (Pedro Henrique, min.71), Taison (Lucas Ramos, min.70), Carlos De Pena, Matheus Dias (Estevao, min.78), Wanderson and Alemao (Braian Romero, min.78)
Palmeiras:Vinicius Silvestre, Mayke, Murilo Cerqueira, Luan Garcia, Henri, Rony (Rafael Navarro, min.61), Eduard Atuesta (Bruno Tabata, min.46), Gustavo Scarpa (Gabriel Menino, min.46), Danilo, Dudu (Giovani, min.74) and Endrick Felipe Moreira de Sousa (Jose Manuel Lopez, min.61)
Stadium:Estadio Beira-Rio
Goals:Mauricio (1-0, min. 10), Alemao (2-0, min. 39) and Braian Romero (3-0, min. 85)