Paranaense 3 – Botafogo 0: Bad day for visitors at Arena da Baixada

Photo Credit: AP

Athletico Paranaense defeated Botafogo 3-0 on Sunday at Arena da Baixada. Paranaense were looking for a victory following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Atlético Goianense in their previous game while Botafogo were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Santos FC and Atl. Mineiro. Following this match, Paranaense are now in 6th place on the table and have 58 points while Botafogo sit in 10th with 53 points after 38 matches.

After a goalless first half, whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Paranaense who started the second half strongly, when Adryelson gave them the lead on the 52 minute mark. The momentum was again with Paranaense, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Vitor Roque in the 62nd minute to establish a 2-0 result. Paranaense then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Erick just before the full time to give a final score of 3-0.

Substitutions for Paranaense included Pedrinho, Agustin Canobbio, Pablo Felipe, Romulo and Bryan Garcia for Abner, Vitinho, Vitor Roque, David Terans and Fernandinho, respectively. Botafogo brought on Joao Victor, Matheus Nascimento and Luis Henrique for Junior Santos, Patrick De Paula and Daniel Borges.

There were bookings for Erick from Paranaense. For Botafogo, Junior Santos saw yellow.

Technical card:
Athletico Paranaense:Bento, Khellven, Thiago Heleno, Matheus Felipe, Abner (Pedrinho, min.70), David Terans (Romulo, min.86), Alex Santana, Fernandinho (Bryan Garcia, min.86), Erick, Vitinho (Agustin Canobbio, min.79) and Vitor Roque (Pablo Felipe, min.79)
Botafogo:Lucas Perri, Daniel Borges (Luis Henrique, min.69), Victor Cuesta, Adryelson, Fernando Marcal, Junior Santos (Joao Victor, min.59), Lucas Fernandes, Tche Tche, Patrick De Paula (Matheus Nascimento, min.59), Jefferson Ruan Pereira dos Santos and Soares
Stadium:Arena da Baixada
Goals:Adryelson (1-0, min. 52), Vitor Roque (2-0, min. 62) and Erick (3-0, min. 90)