Spurs 3 – Arsenal 0: The Gunners ship 3 with no reply at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Tottenham Hotspur snatched all three points from Arsenal in a 3-0 victory on Thursday, at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium. Spurs were looking for a victory following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Liverpool in their previous game while Arsenal were coming from consecutive wins against Leeds United and West Ham United. After today’s result, Spurs and Arsenal currently occupy 5th and 4th spots in the table, with 65 points and 66 points respectively after 22 matches.

The first half of the game started favourably for The Lilywhites, with Harry Kane opening the rout in the 22nd minute. The momentum was now with Spurs, who then scored again through a second effort from Harry Kane, 37 minutes in to establish a 2-0. Spurs then netted again and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Heung Min Son just before half-time to see out the first half 3-0. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the game ended 3-0.

Spurs brought on Steven Bergwijn, Lucas Moura and Joe Rodon for Heung Min Son, Dejan Kulusevski and Ben Davies. Arsenal brought on Emile Smith-Rowe, Alexandre Lacazette and Nuno Tavares, to replace Gabriel Martinelli, Edward Nketiah and Gabriel Magalhaes.

The referee booked Ben Davies from Spurs. Arsenal had the worst of it though, with Rob Holding, Emile Smith-Rowe, Martin Odegaard and Granit Xhaka seeing yellow, and Rob Holding (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Spurs will play at home against Burnley, while Arsenal will face Newcastle United away.

Technical card:
Tottenham Hotspur:Hugo Lloris, Ben Davies (Joe Rodon, min.82), Eric Dier, Davinson Sanchez, Emerson, Rodrigo Bentancur, Pierre Hojbjerg, Ryan Sessegnon, Dejan Kulusevski (Lucas Moura, min.72), Heung Min Son (Steven Bergwijn, min.72) and Harry Kane
Arsenal:Aaron Ramsdale, Cedric Soares, Gabriel Magalhaes (Nuno Tavares, min.76), Rob Holding, Takehiro Tomiyasu, Bukayo Saka, Mohamed Elneny, Martin Odegaard, Granit Xhaka, Gabriel Martinelli (Emile Smith-Rowe, min.64) and Edward Nketiah (Alexandre Lacazette, min.73)
Stadium:Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Goals:Harry Kane (1-0, min. 22), Harry Kane (2-0, min. 37) and Heung Min Son (3-0, min. 47)