Man City 3-1 Brighton: Haaland back among the goals as Citizens win

Photo Credit: AP

Manchester City banked all three points against the Brighton & Hove Albion in a 3-1 victory on Saturday, at the Etihad Stadium. Man City arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing 1-0 to Liverpool in their last match. Brighton, meanwhile, had secured a point against Nottingham Forest in their previous match. Man City and Brighton sit 2nd, (23 points) and 8th, (15 points), in the league respectively, after 13 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Man City, when Erling Haaland gave them the lead, 22 minutes in. Man City then scored once more and increased their lead thanks to a penalty 2nd effort from Erling Haaland just before half-time and the first half ended 2-0.

Brighton staged a comeback in the second half, thanks to a goal from Leandro Trossard in the 53rd minute. In the end though, Cityzens increased their advantage via a Kevin De Bruyne goal in the 75th minute, seing the match finish 3-1.

Substitutions for Man City included Phil Foden, Cole Palmer and Julian Alvarez for Riyad Mahrez, Jack Grealish and Erling Haaland, respectively. Brighton replaced Tariq Lamptey, Pervis Estupinan, Deniz Undav, Billy Gilmour and Jeremy Sarmiento with Adam Lallana, Joel Veltman, Danny Welbeck, Alexis MacAllister and Pascal Gross.

There were bookings for Riyad Mahrez from Man City. For Brighton, Moisés Caicedo, Pascal Gross and Pervis Estupinan saw yellow.

Man City will next travel to Leicester City, while Brighton will face Chelsea at home.

Technical card:
Manchester City:Ederson, Joao Cancelo, Ruben Dias, Manuel Akanji, Aymeric Laporte, Kevin De Bruyne, Rodri, Bernardo Silva, Erling Haaland (Julian Alvarez, min.80), Riyad Mahrez (Phil Foden, min.62) and Jack Grealish (Cole Palmer, min.77)
Brighton & Hove Albion:Robert Sanchez, Adam Webster, Lewis Dunk, Joel Veltman (Pervis Estupinan, min.66), Solly March, Alexis MacAllister (Billy Gilmour, min.87), Moisés Caicedo, Leandro Trossard, Adam Lallana (Tariq Lamptey, min.46), Pascal Gross (Jeremy Sarmiento, min.87) and Danny Welbeck (Deniz Undav, min.79)
Stadium:the Etihad Stadium
Goals:Erling Haaland (1-0, min. 22), Erling Haaland (2-0, min. 43), Leandro Trossard (2-1, min. 53) and Kevin De Bruyne (3-1, min. 75)