Liverpool 1-1 Crystal Palace: Nunez sees red as The Eagles claim a draw at Anfield

Liverpool vs Crystal Palace
Photo Credit: AP

On Monday, Liverpool and Palace were held to a 1-1 draw at Anfield. Liverpool wanted to improve their league standing following a disappointing 2-2 draw with Fulham in their previous game whilst Palace were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against Arsenal. As it stands, Liverpool are in 12th place in the table and have 2 points while Palace sit in 16th with 1 point after 2 matches.

The Eagles found the net first, when Wilfried Zaha gave Palace the lead at the 32 minute mark, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Liverpool took the initiative in the second half, when Luis Diaz found the net, 61 minutes in. The match ended wih a 1-1 draw.

Substitutions for Liverpool included Jordan Henderson, Kostas Tsimikas, Joe Gomez and Fabio Carvalho for James Milner, Andy Robertson, Nathaniel Phillips and Harvey Elliott, repectively. Palace brought on Odsonne Edouard, Will Hughes, Luka Milivojevic, Chris Richards and Michael Olise, to replace Jordan Ayew, Cheick Oumar Doucoure, Tyrick Mitchell, Eberechi Eze and Jeffrey Schlupp.

The referee booked Luis Diaz and Kostas Tsimikas from Liverpool and Darwin Nunez went off with a red card, while Palace’s Joachim Andersen, Joel Ward, Odsonne Edouard and Vicente Guaita also received a yellow.

Liverpool will next travel to Manchester United, while Palace will face Aston Villa at home.

Technical card:
Liverpool:Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Nathaniel Phillips (Joe Gomez, min.63), Virgil Van Dijk, Andy Robertson (Kostas Tsimikas, min.63), Fabinho, Harvey Elliott (Fabio Carvalho, min.79), James Milner (Jordan Henderson, min.63), Darwin Nunez, Mohamed Salah and Luis Diaz
Crystal Palace:Vicente Guaita, Nathaniel Clyne, Joel Ward, Joachim Andersen, Marc Guehi, Tyrick Mitchell (Luka Milivojevic, min.79), Eberechi Eze (Chris Richards, min.79), Jeffrey Schlupp (Michael Olise, min.88), Cheick Oumar Doucoure (Will Hughes, min.79), Wilfried Zaha and Jordan Ayew (Odsonne Edouard, min.64)
Goals:Wilfried Zaha (0-1, min. 32) and Luis Diaz (1-1, min. 61)