Leicester 4-0 Nottingham Forest: Foxes on song as James Maddison stars

Leicester vs Forest
Photo Credit: AP

Leicester City’s 4-0 win over Nottingham Forest on Monday, was hard fought at the King Power Stadium. Both Leicester and Forest arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Leicester were looking forward to playing again after losing 6-2 to Tottenham Hotspur in their last match, while Forest were beaten 3-2 in their previous match against Fulham. both teams are now on 4 points and occupy 19th and 20th places respectively after 9 matches.

The Foxes started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when James Maddison opened the rout, 25 minutes in. Leicester looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Harvey Barnes in the 27th minute to establish a 2-0. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a 2nd effort from James Maddison on the 35 minute mark, concluding the first half 3-0.

Leicester continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Patson Daka, 73 minutes in. They managed to close the match out with a clean sheet and a well-earned of 4-0 victory.

Substitutions for Leicester included Boubakary Soumare, Patson Daka, Dennis Praet and Marc Albrighton for Wilfred Ndidi, Jamie Vardy, Youri Tielemans and James Maddison, respectively. Forest brought on Serge Aurier, Ryan Yates, Remo Freuler, Emmanuel Dennis and Orel Mangala, to replace Neco Williams, Lewis O’Brien, Cheikhou Kouyate, Taiwo Awoniyi and Jesse Lingard.

There were bookings for Boubakary Soumare and James Maddison from Leicester, and Neco Williams, Cheikhou Kouyate, Jesse Lingard and Steve Cook, for Forest.

Leicester will next play Bournemouth away, with Forest facing Aston Villa at home.

Technical card:
Leicester City:Danny Ward, Timothy Castagne, Jonny Evans, Wout Faes, James Michael Justin, James Maddison (Marc Albrighton, min.85), Youri Tielemans (Dennis Praet, min.80), Kiernan Dewsbury-Hall, Wilfred Ndidi (Boubakary Soumare, min.46), Harvey Barnes and Jamie Vardy (Patson Daka, min.62)
Nottingham Forest:Dean Henderson, Neco Williams (Serge Aurier, min.46), Scott McKenna, Steve Cook, Renan Lodi, Morgan Gibbs-White, Lewis O’Brien (Ryan Yates, min.46), Cheikhou Kouyate (Remo Freuler, min.46), Jesse Lingard (Orel Mangala, min.69), Brennan Johnson and Taiwo Awoniyi (Emmanuel Dennis, min.62)
Stadium:the King Power Stadium
Goals:James Maddison (1-0, min. 25), Harvey Barnes (2-0, min. 27), James Maddison (3-0, min. 35) and Patson Daka (4-0, min. 73)