Brighton 3-1 West Ham 1: Irons fail to hold onto lead at Brighton

Photo Credit: AP

Brighton & Hove Albion defeat West Ham United 3-1 on Sunday at the Amex Stadium. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Brighton wanted to continue adding points following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Leeds United in their previous game. The Hammers, on the other hand, had managed to pick up a single point in their encounter with Manchester City. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Premier League season, Brighton and The Hammers are 9th (51 points) and 7th (56 points) in the league respectively, after a total of 38 matches.

The Irons started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with Michail Antonio giving The Hammers the lead just before half-time to see out the first half 0-1.

The Seagulls staged a comeback in the second half, thanks to an early goal from Joel Veltman in the 50th minute. The momentum was now with Brighton, who then scored again through a goal from Pascal Gross, 80 minutes in to establish a 2-1. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Danny Welbeck just before the final whistle to make it 3-1.

Both managers used all available substitutions. For Brighton, Neal Maupay, Tariq Lamptey and Enock Mwepu, came on for Yves Bissouma, Solly March and Moisés Caicedo, The Hammers brought on Andriy Yarmolenko, Ben Johnson and Mark Noble for Manuel Lanzini, Vladimir Coufal and Pablo Fornals.

There were bookings for Neal Maupay from Brighton, and Tomas Soucek, for The Hammers.

Technical card:
Brighton & Hove Albion:Robert Sanchez, Adam Webster, Lewis Dunk, Joel Veltman, Solly March (Tariq Lamptey, min.75), Yves Bissouma (Neal Maupay, min.46), Moisés Caicedo (Enock Mwepu, min.79), Marc Cucurella, Alexis MacAllister, Danny Welbeck and Pascal Gross
West Ham United:Lukasz Fabianski, Vladimir Coufal (Ben Johnson, min.81), Kurt Zouma, Craig Dawson, Aaron Cresswell, Jarrod Bowen, Declan Rice, Tomas Soucek, Manuel Lanzini (Andriy Yarmolenko, min.79), Pablo Fornals (Mark Noble, min.82) and Michail Antonio
Stadium:the Amex Stadium
Goals:Michail Antonio (0-1, min. 40), Joel Veltman (1-1, min. 50), Pascal Gross (2-1, min. 80) and Danny Welbeck (3-1, min. 90)