Arsenal 3-1 Spurs: The Gunners jubilant after North London derby win

Arsenal vs Spurs
Photo Credit: AP

Arsenal beat Tottenham Hotspur with a 3-1 victory on Saturday at Emirates Stadium. Both sides arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Arsenal were looking to pick up points after winning last match while Spurs were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Leicester City and Fulham. Arsenal and Spurs currently occupy 1st and 3rd spots in the table, with 21 points and 17 points respectively after 9 matches.

The Gunners scored first, when Thomas Partey found the net in the 20th minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as Harry Kane equalised for Spurs in the 31st minute to see out the first half 1-1.

Arsenal started the second half with an intensified spirit, with an early goal from Gabriel Jesus in the 49th minute. Arsenal then scored once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Granit Xhaka in the 67th minute to make it 3-1.

Substitutions for Arsenal included Kieran Tierney, Albert Sambi Lokonga, Fabio Vieira, Edward Nketiah and Takehiro Tomiyasu for Oleksandr Zinchenko, Thomas Partey, Gabriel Jesus, Martin Odegaard and Ben White, respectively. Spurs brought on Davinson Sanchez, Yves Bissouma, Ryan Sessegnon, Matt Doherty and Oliver Skipp, to replace Clement Lenglet, Heung Min Son, Richarlison, Ivan Perisic and Pierre Hojbjerg.

The referee booked William Saliba and Gabriel Martinelli from Arsenal. Spurs had the worst of it though, with Eric Dier seeing yellow, and Emerson then sent off with a red.

Arsenal will play their next fixture at home against Liverpool, while Spurs will face Brighton & Hove Albion away.

Technical card:
Arsenal:Aaron Ramsdale, Ben White (Takehiro Tomiyasu, min.89), Gabriel Magalhaes, William Saliba, Oleksandr Zinchenko (Kieran Tierney, min.73), Bukayo Saka, Thomas Partey (Albert Sambi Lokonga, min.73), Martin Odegaard (Edward Nketiah, min.80), Granit Xhaka, Gabriel Martinelli and Gabriel Jesus (Fabio Vieira, min.80)
Tottenham Hotspur:Hugo Lloris, Eric Dier, Clement Lenglet (Davinson Sanchez, min.71), Cristian Romero, Emerson, Rodrigo Bentancur, Pierre Hojbjerg (Oliver Skipp, min.75), Ivan Perisic (Matt Doherty, min.73), Heung Min Son (Yves Bissouma, min.71), Harry Kane and Richarlison (Ryan Sessegnon, min.72)
Stadium:Emirates Stadium
Goals:Thomas Partey (1-0, min. 20), Harry Kane (1-1, min. 31), Gabriel Jesus (2-1, min. 49) and Granit Xhaka (3-1, min. 67)