Arsenal 2-1 Fulham: The Gunners recover to sink the Cottagers

Photo Credit: AP

Fulham on away loss to Arsenal at Emirates Stadium on Saturday. Both sides arrived on the back of wins. Arsenal were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches against Bournemouth away and Leicester City at home, by 3-0 and 4-2 respectively while Fulham were able to continue their winning streak after a 3-2 win against Brentford in their last match. As it stands, Arsenal and Fulham currently occupy 1st and 11th spots in the table, with 12 points and 5 points respectively after 4 matches.

Following a goalless first half, The Cottagers took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Aleksandar Mitrovic in the 56th minute. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Martin Odegaard at the 64 minute mark brought The Gunners level. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Gabriel Magalhaes just before the final whistle to make it 2-1.

Substitutions for Arsenal included Edward Nketiah, Takehiro Tomiyasu and Rob Holding for Kieran Tierney, Gabriel Jesus and Martin Odegaard, repectively. Fulham brought on Tom Cairney, Issa Diop, Kevin Mbabu, Nathaniel Chalobah and Jay Stansfield, to replace Neeskens Kebano, Andreas Pereira, Kenny Tete, Joao Palhinha and Tim Ream.

There were bookings for Ben White and Gabriel Jesus from Arsenal. For Fulham, Joao Palhinha, Antonee Robinson and Bobby Reid saw yellow.

Arsenal next face Aston Villa and Fulham are at home to Brighton & Hove Albion.

Technical card:
Arsenal:Aaron Ramsdale, Ben White, William Saliba, Gabriel Magalhaes, Kieran Tierney (Edward Nketiah, min.61), Bukayo Saka, Martin Odegaard (Rob Holding, min.90), Granit Xhaka, Mohamed Elneny, Gabriel Martinelli and Gabriel Jesus (Takehiro Tomiyasu, min.89)
Fulham:Bernd Leno, Kenny Tete (Kevin Mbabu, min.79), Tosin Adarabioyo, Tim Ream (Jay Stansfield, min.88), Antonee Robinson, Neeskens Kebano (Tom Cairney, min.69), Harrison Reed, Joao Palhinha (Nathaniel Chalobah, min.88), Andreas Pereira (Issa Diop, min.79), Bobby Reid and Aleksandar Mitrovic
Stadium:Emirates Stadium
Goals:Aleksandar Mitrovic (0-1, min. 56), Martin Odegaard (1-1, min. 64) and Gabriel Magalhaes (2-1, min. 85)