Sheffield Wednesday 4-2 Burton Albion: The Owls power to home success

Photo Credit: AP

Sheffield Wednesday strolled past Burton Albion with a 4-2 win on Saturday at Hillsborough Stadium. SWFC arrived with the intention of improving their league position following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Bristol Rovers in their previous game. Burton Albion were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Bolton Wanderers. SWFC and Burton Albion currently occupy 3rd and 24th spots in the table, with 34 points and 12 points respectively after 17 matches.

The first half of the match started well for SWFC, when Barry Bannan found the net, 22 minutes in. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Michael Smith, at 26 minutes, finishing the first half 2-0.

SWFC started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, thanks to a goal from Mallik Wilks, 53 minutes in. The momentum was again with The Owls, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Fisayo Dele-Bashiru, 75 minutes in to establish a 4-0 result. However, Burton Albion refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Sam Winnall in the 76th minute. Burton Albion then scored once more and hit back though thanks to a goal from Tom Hamer, at 82 minutes to give a final score of 4-2.

Substitutions for SWFC included George Byers, Lee Gregory, Will Vaulks and Jack Hunt for Barry Bannan, Michael Smith, Fisayo Dele-Bashiru and Mallik Wilks, respectively. Burton Albion replaced Calum Butcher, Joe Powell and Victor Adeboyejo for Sam Winnall, Davis Keillor-Dunn and Bobby Kamwa.

SWFC will next play Accrington Stanley away, with Burton Albion facing Charlton Athletic at home.

Technical card:
Sheffield Wednesday:Barry Bannan (George Byers, min.66), Michael Smith (Lee Gregory, min.67), Mallik Wilks (Jack Hunt, min.87) and Fisayo Dele-Bashiru (Will Vaulks, min.87)
Burton Albion:Calum Butcher (Sam Winnall, min.58), Joe Powell (Davis Keillor-Dunn, min.59), Victor Adeboyejo (Bobby Kamwa, min.81) and Tom Hamer
Stadium:Hillsborough Stadium
Goals:Barry Bannan (1-0, min. 22), Michael Smith (2-0, min. 26), Mallik Wilks (3-0, min. 53), Fisayo Dele-Bashiru (4-0, min. 75), Sam Winnall (4-1, min. 76) and Tom Hamer (4-2, min. 82)