Bristol Rovers 2-2 Fleetwood Town: Rooney brace saves a point for Fleetwood

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Bristol Rovers and Fleetwood Town played out a 2-2 draw at Memorial Stadium. Bristol Rovers arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 4-2 to Derby County. Fleetwood Town were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-0 victory against Accrington Stanley. Bristol Rovers are now in 17th place on the table and have 21 points while Fleetwood Town sit in 16th with 22 points after 18 matches.

Fleetwood Town started strongly in the first half, when Shaun Rooney found the net, at 14 minutes, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Bristol Rovers took the lead in the second half, when Josh Coburn found the net, at 57 minutes. Bristol Rovers looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Aaron Collins, 80 minutes in to establish a 2-1. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Shaun Rooney equalised for Fleetwood Town just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 2-2.

Substitutions for Bristol Rovers included James Connolly, Luca Hoole, John Marquis and Harvey Saunders for James Gibbons, Scott Sinclair, Aaron Collins and Josh Coburn, respectively. Fleetwood Town brought on Harrison Holgate, Daniel Batty, Promise Omochere, Paddy Lane and Joe Garner for Andrew Baker, Brendan Sarpong-Wiredu, Callum Morton, Lewis Warrington and Carlos Mendes Gomes.

There were bookings for Lewis Gordon, Aaron Collins, James Belshaw and Jordan Rossiter from Bristol Rovers, and Jay Lynch and Daniel Batty, for Fleetwood Town.

Fleetwood Town and Bristol Rovers will next play at home to Bolton Wanderers and Peterborough United respectively.

Technical card:
Bristol Rovers:James Gibbons (James Connolly, min.46), Josh Coburn (Harvey Saunders, min.90), Lewis Gordon, Aaron Collins (John Marquis, min.90), Scott Sinclair (Luca Hoole, min.86), James Belshaw and Jordan Rossiter
Fleetwood Town:Shaun Rooney, Andrew Baker (Harrison Holgate, min.65), Jay Lynch, Brendan Sarpong-Wiredu (Daniel Batty, min.72), Callum Morton (Promise Omochere, min.72), Lewis Warrington (Paddy Lane, min.86) and Carlos Mendes Gomes (Joe Garner, min.86)
Stadium:Memorial Stadium
Goals:Shaun Rooney (0-1, min. 14), Josh Coburn (1-1, min. 57), Aaron Collins (2-1, min. 80) and Shaun Rooney (2-2, min. 90)