Plymouth Argyle 2-1 Ipswich Town: Pilgrims impress again at Home Park

Photo Credit: AP

Plymouth Argyle eased past Ipswich Town in a 2-1 victory on Sunday at Home Park. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Plymouth Argyle arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a 2-2 draw against Portsmouth FC. Ipswich Town, meanwhile, had to settle for a draw 2-2 against Sheffield Wednesday. Plymouth Argyle and Ipswich Town currently occupy 1st and 3rd spots in the league, with 22 points and 21 points respectively after 11 matches.

Ipswich Town started the first half well, when Freddie Ladapo found the net, at 39 minutes, finishing the first half 1-0.

Plymouth Argyle once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Bali Mumba, 69 minutes in. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Morgan Whittaker in the 75th minute to make it 2-1.

Substitutions for Plymouth Argyle included Sam Cosgrove, Jordan Houghton, William Jenkins-Davies, Conor Grant and Macauley Gillesphey for Danny Mayor, Matt Butcher, Niall Ennis, Morgan Whittaker and Nigel Lonwijk, respectively. Ipswich Town brought on Kane Vincent-Young, Tyreece John-Jules, Kyle Edwards and Gassan Ahadme, to replace Freddie Ladapo, Marcus Harness, Leif Davis and Conor Chaplin.

The referee booked four players from Ipswich Town, Marcus Harness, Sam Morsy, George Edmundson and Lee Evans.

Plymouth Argyle will next play Wycombe Wanderers away, with Ipswich Town facing Portsmouth FC at home.

Technical card:
Plymouth Argyle:Michael Cooper, Bali Mumba, Nigel Lonwijk (Macauley Gillesphey, min.90), James Wilson, Morgan Whittaker (Conor Grant, min.90), Adam Randell, Niall Ennis (William Jenkins-Davies, min.83), Danny Mayor (Sam Cosgrove, min.61), Joe Edwards, Matt Butcher (Jordan Houghton, min.61) and Dan Scarr
Ipswich Town:Christian Walton, Leif Davis (Kyle Edwards, min.80), Freddie Ladapo (Kane Vincent-Young, min.59), Janoi Donacien, Conor Chaplin (Gassan Ahadme, min.81), Marcus Harness (Tyreece John-Jules, min.59), Sam Morsy, Lee Evans, Kayden Jackson, George Edmundson and Luke Woolfenden
Stadium:Home Park
Goals:Freddie Ladapo (0-1, min. 39), Bali Mumba (1-1, min. 69) and Morgan Whittaker (2-1, min. 75)