Peterborough United 3-0 Port Vale: Posh too strong for the Valiants

Photo Credit: AP

Peterborough United banked all three points against the Port Vale in a 3-0 victory on Saturday, at Abax Stadium. Peterborough United were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 1-0 to Bolton Wanderers in their last match. Port Vale had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 2-1 victory against Shrewsbury Town. Peterborough United and Port Vale are 8th, (15 points) and 15th, (12 points), in the league respectively, after 11 matches.

Peterborough United started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Jonson Clarke-Harris opened the rout, 26 minutes in. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a 2nd effort from Jonson Clarke-Harris, 36 minutes in, finishing the first half 2-0.

Peterborough United continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Joe Ward on the 73 minute mark, seing the match finish 3-0.

Substitutions for Peterborough United included Nathan Thompson, Jack Marriott, Joel Randall, Dan Butler and Ephron Mason-Clark for Ricky Jade-Jones, Ben Thompson, Kwame Poku, Harrison Burrows and Jonson Clarke-Harris, respectively. Port Vale brought on Tom Conlon, David Worrall, Dennis Politic and Brad Walker, to replace Funso Ojo, Malvind Benning, Daniel Butterworth and James Wilson.

The referee booked three players from Port Vale, Gavin Massey, Ellis Harrison and Dan Jones.

Peterborough United will play away against Milton Keynes Dons, while Port Vale will face Sheffield Wednesday at home.

Technical card:
Peterborough United:Jonson Clarke-Harris (Ephron Mason-Clark, min.82), Ricky Jade-Jones (Nathan Thompson, min.71), Ben Thompson (Jack Marriott, min.72), Joe Ward, Kwame Poku (Joel Randall, min.77) and Harrison Burrows (Dan Butler, min.77)
Port Vale:Funso Ojo (Tom Conlon, min.21), Gavin Massey, Ellis Harrison, Malvind Benning (David Worrall, min.58), Daniel Butterworth (Dennis Politic, min.58), James Wilson (Brad Walker, min.77) and Dan Jones
Stadium:Abax Stadium
Goals:Jonson Clarke-Harris (1-0, min. 26), Jonson Clarke-Harris (2-0, min. 36) and Joe Ward (3-0, min. 73)