Peterborough 4-0 Lincoln City: Bad day for visitors as Posh net four

Photo Credit: AP

Peterborough United defeated Lincoln City 4-0 on Saturday at Abax Stadium. Both sides arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Peterborough United were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning last match. Lincoln City, on the other hand, had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 2-1 victory against Oxford United. As it stands, Peterborough United and Lincoln City currently occupy 2nd and 17th spots in the league, with 12 points and 6 points respectively after 5 matches.

Peterborough United started the first half well, when Jack Marriott opened the rout, at 21 minutes. Peterborough United looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Jonson Clarke-Harris at the 29 minute mark to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Jonson Clarke-Harris made it 3-0 just before halftime, finishing the first half 3-0.

Peterborough United started the second half with an intensified spirit, with an early second effort from Jack Marriott in the 50th minute, which sealed the victory for Peterborough United.

Substitutions for Peterborough United included Josh Knight, Joe Tomlinson, David Ajiboye, Hector Matthew Kyprianou and Joe Taylor for Nathan Thompson, Harrison Burrows, Joe Ward, Ben Thompson and Jonson Clarke-Harris, repectively. Lincoln City brought on Sean Roughan, Tashan Oakley-Boothe and Charley Kendall, to replace Anthony Scully, Teddy Bishop and Jordan Garrick.

There were bookings for Frankie Kent from Peterborough United, and Paudie O’Connor and Jordan Garrick, for Lincoln City.

Peterborough United will next play Derby County away, with Lincoln City facing Fleetwood Town at home.

Technical card:
Peterborough United:Jack Marriott, Jonson Clarke-Harris (Joe Taylor, min.81), Frankie Kent, Nathan Thompson (Josh Knight, min.61), Harrison Burrows (Joe Tomlinson, min.61), Joe Ward (David Ajiboye, min.70) and Ben Thompson (Hector Matthew Kyprianou, min.70)
Lincoln City:Paudie O’Connor, Jordan Garrick (Charley Kendall, min.59), Anthony Scully (Sean Roughan, min.46) and Teddy Bishop (Tashan Oakley-Boothe, min.59)
Stadium:Abax Stadium
Goals:Jack Marriott (1-0, min. 21), Jonson Clarke-Harris (2-0, min. 29), Jonson Clarke-Harris (3-0, min. 43) and Jack Marriott (4-0, min. 50)