Morecambe 0-4 MK Dons 4: Home side hammered by the Dons

Photo Credit: AP

Milton Keynes Dons’ 4-0 win over Morecambe FC on Saturday, was hard fought at Globe Arena. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Morecambe FC were looking for a victory after a 1-1 draw against Oxford United. Milton Keynes Dons, on the other hand, secured a point against Accrington Stanley in their previous match. As the table looks today, Morecambe FC and Milton Keynes Dons currently occupy 23rd and 13th spots in the league, with 3 points and 7 points respectively after 6 matches.

Milton Keynes Dons dominated the first half, when Will Grigg opened the rout, at 16 minutes. However they weren’t finished yet and Will Grigg made it 2-0 at the 36 minute mark, finishing the first half 2-0.

Milton Keynes Dons continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Conor Grant found the net, at 62 minutes. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Matthew Dennis, 67 minutes in with a final score of 4-0.

Substitutions for Morecambe FC included Kieran Phillips, Shane McLoughlin, Caleb Watts, Ryan Cooney and Adam Major for Jacob Bedeau, Ousmane Fane, Dylan Edward Connolly, Ryan Delaney and Arthur Gnahoua, repectively. Milton Keynes Dons brought on Matthew Dennis, Ethan Robson, Matt Smith, Louie Barry and Zak Jules, to replace Will Grigg, Dawson Devoy, Darragh Burns, Conor Grant and Daniel Harvie.

Milton Keynes Dons and Morecambe FC will next play away to Exeter City and Bristol Rovers respectively.

Technical card:
Morecambe FC:Jacob Bedeau (Kieran Phillips, min.46), Ousmane Fane (Shane McLoughlin, min.71), Dylan Edward Connolly (Caleb Watts, min.71), Ryan Delaney (Ryan Cooney, min.78) and Arthur Gnahoua (Adam Major, min.89)
Milton Keynes Dons:Will Grigg (Matthew Dennis, min.46), Dawson Devoy (Ethan Robson, min.61), Darragh Burns (Matt Smith, min.61), Conor Grant (Louie Barry, min.78) and Daniel Harvie (Zak Jules, min.87)
Stadium:Globe Arena
Goals:Will Grigg (0-1, min. 16), Will Grigg (0-2, min. 36), Conor Grant (0-3, min. 62) and Matthew Dennis (0-4, min. 67)