Milton Keynes Dons 1-3 Derby: Derby into the the play-off spots after good win

Photo Credit: AP

Derby County strolled past Milton Keynes Dons with a 3-1 win on Saturday at Stadium Mk. Milton Keynes Dons were on the hunt for more points following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Cheltenham Town in their previous game while Derby were coming from a 4-2 win against Bristol Rovers. Milton Keynes Dons are now in 21st place, with 14 points from 18 matches, while Derby sit in 6th, with 28 points from 18.

Milton Keynes Dons started strongly in the first half, thanks to a goal from Louie Barry, 41 minutes in. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Haydon Roberts equalised for Derby just before half-time. The score at half time remained 1-1.

The Rams started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with a goal from James Collins, 53 minutes in. Derby then netted once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Nathaniel Mendez Laing, 79 minutes in to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Milton Keynes Dons included Mo Eisa, Tennai Watson, Matthew Dennis and Darragh Burns for Louie Barry, Daniel Harvie, Will Grigg and Nathan Holland, respectively. Derby brought on David McGoldrick, William Osula, Liam Francis Thompson and Richard Stearman, to replace James Collins, Lewis Norman Dobbin, Nathaniel Mendez Laing and Conor Hourihane.

There were bookings for Dean Lewington, Daniel Harvie and Matthew Dennis from Milton Keynes Dons. For Derby, Nathaniel Mendez Laing, Jake Rooney and Joe Wildsmith saw yellow.

Next up, Milton Keynes Dons are away to Barnsley, whilst Derby will travel to face Portsmouth FC.

Technical card:
Milton Keynes Dons:Louie Barry (Mo Eisa, min.46), Dean Lewington, Daniel Harvie (Tennai Watson, min.62), Will Grigg (Matthew Dennis, min.84) and Nathan Holland (Darragh Burns, min.84)
Derby County:Nathaniel Mendez Laing (Liam Francis Thompson, min.88), Haydon Roberts, James Collins (David McGoldrick, min.76), Jake Rooney, Lewis Norman Dobbin (William Osula, min.77), Joe Wildsmith and Conor Hourihane (Richard Stearman, min.90)
Stadium:Stadium Mk
Goals:Louie Barry (1-0, min. 41), Haydon Roberts (1-1, min. 43), James Collins (1-2, min. 53) and Nathaniel Mendez Laing (1-3, min. 79)