Ipswich Town 3-2 Portsmouth: Tractor Boy win five-goal thriller at Portman Road

Photo Credit: AP

Ipswich Town banked all three points against the Portsmouth FC in a 3-2 victory on Saturday, at Portman Road Stadium. Ipswich Town were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 2-1 to Plymouth Argyle. Portsmouth FC had managed to pick up a point in their matchup with Plymouth Argyle. Ipswich Town are now in 2nd place, with 24 points from 12 matches, while Portsmouth FC sit in 4th, with 21 points from 12.

Ipswich Town started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Marcus Harness found the net in the 25th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Colby Bishop equalised for Portsmouth FC on the 32 minute mark, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Ipswich Town once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Freddie Ladapo gave them the lead, at 74 minutes. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Colby Bishop in the 79th minute, brought Portsmouth FC level. Ipswich Town in turn, then responded on the 80 minute mark, grabbing the lead with an effort from Wes Burns. The match ended with a 3-2 home victory.

Substitutions for Ipswich Town included Kyle Edwards, Freddie Ladapo, Dominic Ball and Kane Vincent-Young for Marcus Harness, Tyreece John-Jules, Conor Chaplin and Leif Davis, respectively. Portsmouth FC brought on Ryan Tunnicliffe, Ronan Curtis, Recco Hackett-Fairchild and Michael Jacobs, to replace Joe Morrell, Josh Koroma, Michael Morrison and Owen Dale.

There were bookings for Christian Walton from Ipswich Town, and Dane Scarlett and Clark Robertson, for Portsmouth FC.

Ipswich Town will next play Morecambe FC away, with Portsmouth FC facing Fleetwood Town at home.

Technical card:
Ipswich Town:Marcus Harness (Kyle Edwards, min.73), Christian Walton, Tyreece John-Jules (Freddie Ladapo, min.73), Wes Burns, Conor Chaplin (Dominic Ball, min.82) and Leif Davis (Kane Vincent-Young, min.90)
Portsmouth FC:Dane Scarlett, Colby Bishop, Joe Morrell (Ryan Tunnicliffe, min.65), Josh Koroma (Ronan Curtis, min.65), Clark Robertson, Michael Morrison (Recco Hackett-Fairchild, min.87) and Owen Dale (Michael Jacobs, min.89)
Stadium:Portman Road Stadium
Goals:Marcus Harness (1-0, min. 25), Colby Bishop (1-1, min. 32), Freddie Ladapo (2-1, min. 74), Colby Bishop (2-2, min. 79) and Wes Burns (3-2, min. 80)