Ipswich 2-2 Barnsley: Points shared in entertaining draw Portman Road

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Ipswich Town and Barnsley were held to a 2-2 draw at Portman Road Stadium. Ipswich Town were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two games in the league. The most recent was against the Shrewsbury Town away (3-0), the other to Burton Albion away (1-0). Barnsley, on the other hand, lost 3-0 in the last match they played against Wycombe Wanderers. As things stand, Ipswich Town are in 2nd place, with 14 points from 6 matches, while Barnsley sit in 16th, with 7 points from 6.

Ipswich Town started the first half well, when Conor Chaplin gave Ipswich Town the lead in the 27th minute. However, their lead was short lived, as Jack Aitchison equalised for The Tykes in the 33rd minute, finishing the first half 1-1.

Ipswich Town fought back the second half, when Sam Morsy gave Ipswich Town the lead, at 70 minutes. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Callum Styles equalised for Barnsley at the 75 minute mark, leaving the final score at 2-2.

Substitutions for Ipswich Town included Kane Vincent-Young, Marcus Harness, Kayden Jackson and Sone Aluko for Leif Davis, Tyreece John-Jules, Freddie Ladapo and Conor Chaplin, repectively. Barnsley brought on Clarke Oduor, Matty Wolfe, Slobodan Tedic and James Norwood, to replace Jordan Helliwell, Josh Benson, Devante Cole and Jack Aitchison.

There were bookings for George Edmundson and Conor Chaplin from Ipswich Town. For Barnsley, Callum Styles, Matty Wolfe, James Norwood and Mads Andersen saw yellow.

Next up, Ipswich Town are away to Accrington Stanley, whilst Barnsley will travel to face Sheffield Wednesday.

Technical card:
Ipswich Town:Conor Chaplin (Sone Aluko, min.86), Leif Davis (Kane Vincent-Young, min.67), Tyreece John-Jules (Marcus Harness, min.67), Freddie Ladapo (Kayden Jackson, min.67), George Edmundson and Sam Morsy
Barnsley:Jordan Helliwell (Clarke Oduor, min.15), Jack Aitchison (James Norwood, min.65), Josh Benson (Matty Wolfe, min.41), Callum Styles, Devante Cole (Slobodan Tedic, min.65) and Mads Andersen
Stadium:Portman Road Stadium
Goals:Conor Chaplin (1-0, min. 27), Jack Aitchison (1-1, min. 33), Sam Morsy (2-1, min. 70) and Callum Styles (2-2, min. 75)