Huddersfield 0 – Forest 1: Huddersfield lose to Forest in Championship Final

Photo Credit: AP

Huddersfield have the pedigree to come back and erase the memory of defeat at the final stage of this tournament. However that will be for them to consider later. Right now, they will doubtless want to rest tired legs and weary hearts. Huddersfield were looking to continue their run after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the Bristol City at home (2-0), the other to Coventry City away (2-1). Forest, on the other hand, secured a point against Hull City in their previous match. Forest can be proud to say they are champions, they have delivered a win in normal time, decisive and full of confidence. They have sent a clear message to other teams in the Championship that they are a force to be reckoned with.

Forest started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, thanks to Levi Colwill giving Red dogs the lead just before half-time, to take a 0-1 lead into half time. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the game ended 1-0.

Both coaches used allfull available substitutions. For Huddersfield, Jonathan Russell, Duane Holmes and Jordan Rhodes, came on for Naby Sarr, Danel Sinani and Danny Ward, Forest brought on Sam Surridge, Max Lowe and Ethan Horvath to replace Keinan Davis, Philip Zinckernagel and Brice Samba.

There were bookings for Harry Toffolo from Huddersfield. For Forest, Philip Zinckernagel saw yellow.

There were many contenders at the start of the competition, they fell away one by one, until in the end only one remained. Congratulations to Forest, Championship Champions.

Technical card:
Huddersfield Town:Pipa, Danel Sinani (Duane Holmes, min.67), Danny Ward (Jordan Rhodes, min.67), Levi Colwill, Sorba Thomas, Harry Toffolo, Naby Sarr (Jonathan Russell, min.57), Lewis O’Brien, Lee Nicholls, Tom Lees and Jonathan Hogg
Nottingham Forest:Jack Colback, Djed Spence, Philip Zinckernagel (Max Lowe, min.74), Steve Cook, Joe Worrall, Ryan Yates, Brice Samba (Ethan Horvath, min.90), Scott McKenna, Brennan Johnson, James Garner and Keinan Davis (Sam Surridge, min.66)
Stadium:Wembley Stadium
Goals:Levi Colwill (0-1, min. 43)