Derby 2-3 Plymouth: Rams toppled in five-goal thrillier at Pride Park

Photo Credit: AP

Derby were defeated at home by Plymouth Argyle at Pride Park Stadium on Saturday. Both teams arrived on the back of wins. Derby had been hopeful of continuing their good run, following a 2-1 victory against Peterborough United. Plymouth Argyle were coming from consecutive wins against Bolton Wanderers and Forest Green Rovers. Derby are now in 9th place, with 11 points from 7 matches, while Plymouth Argyle sit in 3rd, with 15 points from 7.

Derby started the first half well, when James Collins gave them the lead, 26 minutes in. The Rams then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Nathaniel Mendez Laing in the 38th minute. The score at break remained 2-0.

Plymouth Argyle continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Morgan Whittaker found the net in the 56th minute. Plymouth Argyle looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Sam Cosgrove in the 77th minute to establish a 2-2. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a second effort from Sam Cosgrove just before the final whistle to give a final score of 3-2.

Substitutions for Derby included Liam Francis Thompson, Louie Sibley, William Osula and Lewis Norman Dobbin for David McGoldrick, Tom Barkhuizen, James Collins and Nathaniel Mendez Laing, respectively. Plymouth Argyle brought on Finn Azaz, Jordan Houghton, Niall Ennis, Macauley Gillesphey and Sam Cosgrove, to replace Bali Mumba, Adam Randell, Ryan Hardie, Brendan Galloway and Morgan Whittaker.

There were bookings for David McGoldrick from Derby. For Plymouth Argyle, Bali Mumba saw yellow.

Derby will next play Morecambe FC away, with Plymouth Argyle facing Sheffield Wednesday at home.

Technical card:
Derby County:James Collins (William Osula, min.70), Nathaniel Mendez Laing (Lewis Norman Dobbin, min.80), David McGoldrick (Liam Francis Thompson, min.60) and Tom Barkhuizen (Louie Sibley, min.60)
Plymouth Argyle:Bali Mumba (Finn Azaz, min.61), Morgan Whittaker (Sam Cosgrove, min.75), Adam Randell (Jordan Houghton, min.61), Ryan Hardie (Niall Ennis, min.68) and Brendan Galloway (Macauley Gillesphey, min.75)
Stadium:Pride Park Stadium
Goals:James Collins (1-0, min. 26), Nathaniel Mendez Laing (2-0, min. 38), Morgan Whittaker (2-1, min. 56), Sam Cosgrove (2-2, min. 77) and Sam Cosgrove (2-3, min. 90)