Derby 2-1 Peterborough: Rams bank excellent home win over the Posh

Photo Credit: AP

Derby County beated Peterborough United 2-1 on Saturday at Pride Park Stadium. Derby arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Fleetwood Town in their previous game whilst Peterborough United were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Lincoln City and Sheffield Wednesday. As the table looks today, Derby are in 6th place, with 11 points from 6 matches, while Peterborough United sit in 4th, with 12 points from 6.

Following a goalless first half, Peterborough United fought back the second half, when Josh Knight found the net at the 69 minute mark. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Jason Knight in the 88th minute brought The Rams level. Derby then scored again and turned the match thanks to a goal from David McGoldrick just before the final whistle to make it 2-1.

Substitutions for Derby included Craig Forsyth, Korey Smith and David McGoldrick for Haydon Roberts, Max Bird and James Collins, repectively. Peterborough United brought on Josh Knight, Ephron Mason-Clark, Hector Matthew Kyprianou and Kwame Poku, to replace Jack Taylor, Jack Marriott, Ben Thompson and Jonson Clarke-Harris.

The referee booked Richard Stearman from Derby. Peterborough United had the worst of it though, with Jack Taylor, Nathan Thompson and Harrison Burrows seeing yellow, and Nathan Thompson (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Derby will next play Plymouth Argyle at home, with Peterborough United facing Portsmouth FC away.

Technical card:
Derby County:Haydon Roberts (Craig Forsyth, min.46), Richard Stearman, Max Bird (Korey Smith, min.69), James Collins (David McGoldrick, min.69) and Jason Knight
Peterborough United:Jack Taylor (Josh Knight, min.57), Nathan Thompson, Harrison Burrows, Jack Marriott (Ephron Mason-Clark, min.77), Ben Thompson (Hector Matthew Kyprianou, min.84) and Jonson Clarke-Harris (Kwame Poku, min.84)
Stadium:Pride Park Stadium
Goals:Josh Knight (0-1, min. 69), Jason Knight (1-1, min. 88) and David McGoldrick (2-1, min. 90)