Derby 4-2 Bristol Rovers: The Rams win six-goal thriller

Photo Credit: AP

Derby County eased past Bristol Rovers in a 4-2 victory on Saturday at Pride Park Stadium. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Derby were aiming to improve their league standing following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Exeter City in their previous game. Bristol Rovers, meanwhile, had secured a point against Sheffield Wednesday in their previous match. Derby and Bristol Rovers sit 8th and 16th places with 24 points and 20 points respectively.

It was an impressive opening from The Rams, with an early goal from David McGoldrick in the 5th minute. The momentum was again with Derby, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from James Collins on the 12 minute mark to establish a 2-0 result. The momentum was again with Derby, who then scored again courtesy of a effort from David McGoldrick in the 24th minute to establish a 3-0 result. However, Bristol Rovers refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Bobby Thomas on the 35 minute mark. However, The Rams increased their lead 4-1 thanks to a hat trick effort from David McGoldrick, at 40 minutes. Bristol Rovers in turn, then responded just before half-time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Antony Evans, to take a 4-2 lead into half time. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the match ended 4-2.

Substitutions for Derby included Louie Sibley, William Osula and Liam Francis Thompson for Lewis Norman Dobbin, David McGoldrick and Nathaniel Mendez Laing, respectively. Bristol Rovers brought on James Connolly, Scott Sinclair, Trevor Clarke and Harvey Saunders, to replace Luca Hoole, Luke McCormick, Lewis Gordon and Trevor Clarke.

There were bookings for Conor Hourihane, David McGoldrick, Haydon Roberts and Joe Wildsmith from Derby, and Lewis Gordon, for Bristol Rovers.

Derby will next travel to Milton Keynes Dons, while Bristol Rovers will face Fleetwood Town at home.

Technical card:
Derby County:David McGoldrick (William Osula, min.71), James Collins, Conor Hourihane, Lewis Norman Dobbin (Louie Sibley, min.68), Haydon Roberts, Nathaniel Mendez Laing (Liam Francis Thompson, min.80) and Joe Wildsmith
Bristol Rovers:Lewis Gordon (Trevor Clarke, min.57), Bobby Thomas, Antony Evans, Luca Hoole (James Connolly, min.56) and Luke McCormick (Scott Sinclair, min.57)
Stadium:Pride Park Stadium
Goals:David McGoldrick (1-0, min. 5), James Collins (2-0, min. 12), David McGoldrick (3-0, min. 24), Bobby Thomas (3-1, min. 35), David McGoldrick (4-1, min. 40) and Antony Evans (4-2, min. 45)