Charlton Athletic 3-0 Portsmouth: Addicks romp to victory at The Valley

Photo Credit: AP

Charlton Athletic cruises against Portsmouth FC on a home win at The Valley on Monday. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Charlton Athletic arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a scoreless draw against Lincoln City in their previous match. Portsmouth FC had secured a point against Fleetwood Town in their previous match. Charlton Athletic are now in 10th place, with 19 points from 14 matches, while Portsmouth FC sit in 5th, with 22 points from 14.

Charlton Athletic started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Ryan Inniss opened the rout in the 17th minute. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Corey Blackett-Taylor, 31 minutes in, ending the first half 2-0.

Charlton Athletic once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Eoghan O’Connell on the 67 minute mark. When the final whistle blew, the result was 3-0 to Charlton Athletic.

Substitutions for Charlton Athletic included Albie Morgan, Jack Payne, Chuks Aneke, Sean Clare and Conor McGrandles for Corey Blackett-Taylor, Jesuran Rak-Sakyi, Jayden Stockley, Steven Sessegnon and Scott Fraser, respectively. Portsmouth FC brought on Zak Swanson, Michael Jacobs, Ronan Curtis, Recco Hackett-Fairchild and Jay Mingi for Michael Morrison, Josh Koroma, Michael Jacobs, Dane Scarlett and Owen Dale.

The referee booked Steven Sessegnon, George Dobson and Albie Morgan from Charlton Athletic. Portsmouth FC had the worst of it though, with Marlon Pack and Joe Morrell seeing yellow, and Marlon Pack (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Portsmouth FC and Charlton Athletic will next play away to Forest Green Rovers and Shrewsbury Town respectively.

Technical card:
Charlton Athletic:Ryan Inniss, Corey Blackett-Taylor (Albie Morgan, min.71), Eoghan O’Connell, Steven Sessegnon (Sean Clare, min.78), Jesuran Rak-Sakyi (Jack Payne, min.71), Jayden Stockley (Chuks Aneke, min.78), Scott Fraser (Conor McGrandles, min.78) and George Dobson
Portsmouth FC:Marlon Pack, Michael Morrison (Zak Swanson, min.46), Josh Koroma (Michael Jacobs, min.46), Dane Scarlett (Recco Hackett-Fairchild, min.68), Owen Dale (Jay Mingi, min.68) and Joe Morrell
Stadium:The Valley
Goals:Ryan Inniss (1-0, min. 17), Corey Blackett-Taylor (2-0, min. 31) and Eoghan O’Connell (3-0, min. 67)