Bristol Rovers 2 – Plymouth Argyle 2: Honours even at Memorial Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Bristol Rovers and Plymouth Argyle played out a 2-2 draw at Memorial Stadium. Both Bristol Rovers and Plymouth Argyle arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Bristol Rovers were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches against Cheltenham Town away and Milton Keynes Dons away, by 4-1 and 1-0 respectively. Plymouth Argyle were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Milton Keynes Dons and Accrington Stanley. Bristol Rovers and Plymouth Argyle are 13th, (19 points) and 1st, (35 points), spots respectively, after 15 matches.

Plymouth Argyle started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Finn Azaz gave them the lead on the 14 minute mark. Plymouth Argyle looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Adam Randell, 45 minutes in to establish a 2-0. Bristol Rovers in turn, then responded just before half-time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Josh Coburn, ending the first half 2-1.

Bristol Rovers took the lead in the second half, when Aaron Collins found the net, 57 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-2 draw.

Substitutions for Bristol Rovers included Josh Coburn, James Gibbons, Luke McCormick and Scott Sinclair for Luca Hoole, Harry Anderson, Aaron Collins and Ryan Loft, respectively. Plymouth Argyle brought on Ryan Hardie, Conor Grant and Matt Butcher for Morgan Whittaker, Joe Edwards and Adam Randell.

There were bookings for Ryan Loft from Bristol Rovers, and Jordan Houghton, Adam Randell, Brendan Galloway and Nigel Lonwijk, for Plymouth Argyle.

Bristol Rovers will next play Sheffield Wednesday away, with Plymouth Argyle facing Shrewsbury Town at home.

Technical card:
Bristol Rovers:Ryan Loft (Scott Sinclair, min.89), Luca Hoole (Josh Coburn, min.46), Aaron Collins (Luke McCormick, min.83) and Harry Anderson (James Gibbons, min.65)
Plymouth Argyle:Finn Azaz, Jordan Houghton, Adam Randell (Matt Butcher, min.77), Morgan Whittaker (Ryan Hardie, min.62), Joe Edwards (Conor Grant, min.67), Brendan Galloway and Nigel Lonwijk
Stadium:Memorial Stadium
Goals:Finn Azaz (0-1, min. 14), Adam Randell (0-2, min. 45), Josh Coburn (1-2, min. 47) and Aaron Collins (2-2, min. 57)