Bolton Wanderers 1-3 Oxford United: Trotters upset at home

Photo Credit: AP

Bolton Wanderers fell to a home defeat at the hands of Oxford United at University of Bolton Stadium on Saturday. Bolton Wanderers had been hopeful of continuing their good run after winning their previous two matches against Burton Albion at home and Accrington Stanley away, by 2-1 and 3-2 respectively. Oxford United had to settle for a draw 1-1 against Portsmouth FC. Bolton Wanderers are now in 6th place on the table and have 27 points while Oxford United sit in 18th with 18 points after 17 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Oxford United, when Djavan Anderson gave them the lead, at 25 minutes, saw out the first half 1-0.

Oxford United started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when Ciaron Brown found the net, 53 minutes in. However, Bolton Wanderers refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Dion Charles on the 73 minute mark. Oxford United in turn, then responded, 79 minutes in, grabbing the lead with an effort from Steve Seddon, seing the match finish 3-1.

Substitutions for Bolton Wanderers included Oladapo Afolayan, Kyle Dempsey, Jon Bodvarsson, Aaron Morley and Kieran Sadlier for Jack Iredale, Joshua Sheehan, Elias Kachunga, Jordan Williams and Kieran Lee, respectively. Oxford United brought on Steve Seddon, Marcus Browne, James Henry, Tyler Goodhram and Alex Gorrin, to replace Sam Long, Gatlin O Donkor, Djavan Anderson, Lewis Bate and Marcus McGuane.

There were bookings for Jordan Williams and Ricardo Santos from Bolton Wanderers. For Oxford United, Gatlin O Donkor, Cameron Brannagan, Marcus McGuane, Alex Gorrin and Steve Seddon saw yellow.

Bolton Wanderers will next play Cambridge Utd away, with Oxford United facing Port Vale at home.

Technical card:
Bolton Wanderers:Jordan Williams (Aaron Morley, min.66), Jack Iredale (Oladapo Afolayan, min.46), Joshua Sheehan (Kyle Dempsey, min.60), Elias Kachunga (Jon Bodvarsson, min.60), Kieran Lee (Kieran Sadlier, min.66), Ricardo Santos and Dion Charles
Oxford United:Djavan Anderson (James Henry, min.70), Gatlin O Donkor (Marcus Browne, min.70), Cameron Brannagan, Marcus McGuane (Alex Gorrin, min.81), Sam Long (Steve Seddon, min.46), Ciaron Brown and Lewis Bate (Tyler Goodhram, min.81)
Stadium:University of Bolton Stadium
Goals:Djavan Anderson (0-1, min. 25), Ciaron Brown (0-2, min. 53), Dion Charles (1-2, min. 73) and Steve Seddon (1-3, min. 79)