Zürich 1-5 PSV: Letzigrund stunned as visitors seal victory

Photo Credit: AP

PSV see Zürich off 5-1 on Thursday at Letzigrund. Zürich were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 2-1 to Bodo Glimt in their previous fixture. PSV were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Zürich and PSV currently occupy 4th and 1st spots in the table, with 0 points and 4 points respectively after 3 matches.

PSV found the net first, when Yorbe Vertessen opened the rout on the 10 minute mark. PSV looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a 2nd effort from Yorbe Vertessen, at 15 minutes to establish a 2-0. PSV looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Cody Gakpo, 21 minutes in to establish a 3-0. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Xavi Simons, at 35 minutes to see out the first half 4-0.

PSV started the second half with renewed vigour, when Cody Gakpo found the net once more on the 55 minute mark. In the end though, Züri Akademie then grabbed a goal from Jonathan Okita just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 5-1.

Substitutions for Zürich included Karol Mets, Jonathan Okita, Marc Hornschuh, Nikola Katic and Donis Avdijaj for Fidan Aliti, Nikola Boranijasevic, Blerim Dzemaili, Mirlind Kryeziu and Antonio Marchesano, respectively. PSV brought on Jordan Teze, Anwar El Ghazi, Guus Til, Johan Bakayoko and Ki-Jana Hoever, to replace Armando Obispo, Yorbe Vertessen, Cody Gakpo, Xavi Simons and Philipp Max.

Zürich will next play PSV away, with PSV facing Zürich at home.

Technical card:
Zürich:Yanick Brecher, Mirlind Kryeziu (Nikola Katic, min.71), Lindrit Kamberi, Fidan Aliti (Karol Mets, min.56), Nikola Boranijasevic (Jonathan Okita, min.57), Blerim Dzemaili (Marc Hornschuh, min.57), Antonio Marchesano (Donis Avdijaj, min.71), Ole Selnaes, Adrian Guerrero, Fabian Rohner and Tosin Aiyegun
PSV:Walter Benitez, Philipp Mwene, Ramalho, Armando Obispo (Jordan Teze, min.46), Philipp Max (Ki-Jana Hoever, min.67), Ismael Saibari, Joey Veerman, Xavi Simons (Johan Bakayoko, min.62), Ibrahim Sangare, Cody Gakpo (Guus Til, min.61) and Yorbe Vertessen (Anwar El Ghazi, min.61)
Goals:Yorbe Vertessen (0-1, min. 10), Yorbe Vertessen (0-2, min. 15), Cody Gakpo (0-3, min. 21), Xavi Simons (0-4, min. 35), Cody Gakpo (0-5, min. 55) and Jonathan Okita (1-5, min. 87)