Zürich 2 – Glimt 1: Züri Akademie deliver decisive win at Letzigrund

Photo Credit: AP

On Thursday, Bodo Glimt suffered an away defeat to Zürich at Letzigrund. Both Zürich and Glimt arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Zürich were hoping to get something from this game, following defeat to PSV, while Glimt were beaten 1-0 in their previous match against Arsenal. Zürich are now in 4th place, with 3 points from 5 matches, while Glimt sit in 3rd, with 4 points from 5.

Norwegian dominated the first half, thanks to a goal from Amahl Pellegrino just before half-time, saw out the first half 1-0.

Zürich once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Nikola Boranijasevic in the 67th minute. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Antonio Marchesano just before the full time to give a final score of 2-1.

Substitutions for Zürich included Fabian Rohner, Antonio Marchesano, Bogdan Vyunnik, Karol Mets and Selmin Hodza for Adrian Guerrero, Blerim Dzemaili, Jonathan Okita, Fidan Aliti and Tosin Aiyegun, respectively. Glimt replaced Runar Espejord, Amahl Pellegrino, Brede Moe and Albert Gronbaek for Lars-Jorgen Salvesen, Joel Mugisha, Marius Lode and Elias Kristoffersen Hagen.

There were bookings for Cheick Oumar Conde, Blerim Dzemaili, Nikola Boranijasevic and Tosin Aiyegun from Zürich, and Hugo Vetlesen, for Glimt.

Zürich will next play Arsenal away, with Glimt facing PSV at home.

Technical card:
Zürich:Yanick Brecher, Nikola Boranijasevic, Lindrit Kamberi, Nikola Katic, Fidan Aliti (Karol Mets, min.84), Cheick Oumar Conde, Ole Selnaes, Adrian Guerrero (Fabian Rohner, min.60), Tosin Aiyegun (Selmin Hodza, min.85), Blerim Dzemaili (Antonio Marchesano, min.71) and Jonathan Okita (Bogdan Vyunnik, min.84)
Bodo Glimt:Nikita Haikin, Alfons Sampsted, Brede Moe (Marius Lode, min.82), Marius Hoibraten, Brice Wembangomo, Albert Gronbaek (Elias Kristoffersen Hagen, min.87), Ulrik Saltnes, Hugo Vetlesen, Amahl Pellegrino (Joel Mugisha, min.78), Runar Espejord (Lars-Jorgen Salvesen, min.78) and Ola Solbakken
Goals:Amahl Pellegrino (0-1, min. 45), Nikola Boranijasevic (1-1, min. 67) and Antonio Marchesano (2-1, min. 90)