Union Saint-Gilloise 3 – Malmö 2: Visitors leave King Power At den Dreef Stadion with nothing

Union Saint-Gilloise vs Malmö
Photo Credit: AP

Union Saint-Gilloise strolled past Malmö with a 3-2 win on Thursday at King Power At den Dreef Stadion. Saint-Gilloise were looking to continue their good run after winning last match while Malmö were beaten 2-0 in their previous match against Sporting Braga. Saint-Gilloise are now in 2nd place on the table and have 6 points while Malmö sit in 4th with 0 points after 2 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Malmö, when Joseph Ceesay found the net after only 6 minutes. However, their lead was short-lived, as Christian Burgess equalised for Belgian in the 17th minute, which brought Karel Geraerts’ squad level at 1-1 at the half time break

Malmö fought back the second half, when Isaac Thelin gave them the lead, 57 minutes in. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Teddy Teuma managing to equalize, at 69 minutes 2-2. Saint-Gilloise then netted once more and turned the match thanks to a goal from Victor Boniface, 71 minutes in to give a final score of 3-2.

Both teams used all available substitutes. Substitutions for Saint-Gilloise included Simon Adingra, Gustaf Nilsson and Jose Rodriguez for Dennis Eckert Ayensa, Guillaume Francois and Victor Boniface, respectively, Malmö brought on Soren Rieks, Hugo Larsson and Ola Toivonen to replace Jonas Knudsen, Moustafa Zeidan and Joseph Ceesay.

The referee booked Siebe Van Der Heyden for Saint-Gilloise.

Saint-Gilloise will next travel to Sporting Braga, while Malmö will face Union Berlin at home.

Technical card:
Union Saint-Gilloise:Anthony Moris, Christian Burgess, Siebe Van Der Heyden, Ismael Kandouss, Guillaume Francois (Gustaf Nilsson, min.67), Loic Lapoussin, Teddy Teuma, Jean Thierry Lazare Amani, Senne Lynen, Dennis Eckert Ayensa (Simon Adingra, min.53) and Victor Boniface (Jose Rodriguez, min.80)
Malmö:Johan Dahlin, Felix Beijmo, Lasse Nielsen, Denis Hadzikadunic, Jonas Knudsen (Soren Rieks, min.46), Martin Olsson, Oscar Lewicki, Jo Inge Berget, Joseph Ceesay (Ola Toivonen, min.74), Moustafa Zeidan (Hugo Larsson, min.61) and Isaac Thelin
Stadium:King Power At den Dreef Stadion
Goals:Joseph Ceesay (0-1, min. 6), Christian Burgess (1-1, min. 17), Isaac Thelin (1-2, min. 57), Teddy Teuma (2-2, min. 69) and Victor Boniface (3-2, min. 71)