Trabzonspor 4-0 Monaco: The Monégasques humbled in Turkey

Photo Credit: AP

Trabzonspor beat AS Mónaco with a 4-0 victory on Thursday at Medical Park Arena. Trabzonspor were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 3-1 to AS Mónaco while Monaco were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-1 victory against Trabzonspor. both teams are now on 6 points and occupy 2nd and 3rd places respectively after 4 matches.

The first half of the match started well for Trabzonspor, when Malang Sarr opened the rout just before half-time

Trabzonspor started the second half with an intensified spirit, with an early goal from Vitor Hugo in the 48th minute. Trabzonspor looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Enis Bardhi in the 57th minute to establish a 3-0. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Trezeguet, 69 minutes in to make it 4-0.

Substitutions for Trabzonspor included Vitor Hugo, Abdulkadir Omur, Manolis Siopis, Trezeguet and Yusuf Erdogan for Huseyin Turkmen, Djaniny, Marek Hamsik, Enis Bardhi and Evren Eren Elmali, respectively. Monaco brought on Myron Boadu, Gelson Martins, Takumi Minamino, Kevin Volland and Ismail Jakobs, to replace Breel Embolo, Krepin Diatta, Aleksandr Golovin, Wissam Ben Yedder and Caio Henrique.

There were bookings for Enis Bardhi, Djaniny, Stefano Denswil and Manolis Siopis from Trabzonspor, and Youssouf Fofana, for Monaco.

Monaco and Trabzonspor will next play away to Ferencváros and Red Star Belgrade respectively.

Technical card:
Trabzonspor:Ugurcan Cakir, Huseyin Turkmen (Vitor Hugo, min.46), Marc Bartra, Stefano Denswil, Evren Eren Elmali (Yusuf Erdogan, min.77), Djaniny (Abdulkadir Omur, min.58), Jean-Philippe Gbamin, Marek Hamsik (Manolis Siopis, min.61), Tasos Bakasetas, Enis Bardhi (Trezeguet, min.65) and Umut Bozok
AS Mónaco:Alexander Nubel, Vanderson, Malang Sarr, Axel Disasi, Caio Henrique (Ismail Jakobs, min.83), Krepin Diatta (Gelson Martins, min.61), Youssouf Fofana, Mohamed Camara, Aleksandr Golovin (Takumi Minamino, min.63), Breel Embolo (Myron Boadu, min.61) and Wissam Ben Yedder (Kevin Volland, min.68)
Stadium:Medical Park Arena
Goals:Malang Sarr (1-0, min. 44), Vitor Hugo (2-0, min. 48), Enis Bardhi (3-0, min. 57) and Trezeguet (4-0, min. 69)