Sturm Graz 1-0 Feyenoord: Visitors unable to get win at Merkur Arena

Photo Credit: AP

SK Sturm Graz beated Feyenoord Rotterdam 1-0 on Thursday at Merkur Arena. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Sturm Graz were on the hunt for more points following a disappointing 2-2 draw with Lazio in their previous game. Feyenoord had secured a point against FC Midtjylland in their previous match. both teams are now on 5 points and occupy 4th and 2nd places after 5 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Sturm Graz applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Otar Kiteishvili gave them the lead just before the final whistle. The final result, Sturm Graz 1, Feyenoord 0.

Substitutions for Sturm Graz included Otar Kiteishvili, Emanuel Emegha, Jakob Jantscher and David Schnegg for Stefan Hierlander, Albian Ajeti, William Boving Vick and Amadou Dante, respectively. Feyenoord brought on Patrik Walemark, Marcus Holmgren Pedersen and Santiago Gimenez for Alireza Jahanbakhsh, Sebastian Szymanski and Danilo.

There were bookings for Ivan Ljubic from Sturm Graz, and Quinten Timber, Patrik Walemark, Javairo Dilrosun and Marcus Holmgren Pedersen, for Feyenoord.

Sturm Graz will next play FC Midtjylland away, with Feyenoord facing Lazio at home.

Technical card:
SK Sturm Graz:Jörg Siebenhandl, Jusuf Gazibegovic, David Affengruber, Ivan Ljubic, Gregory Wuthrich, Amadou Dante (David Schnegg, min.90), Stefan Hierlander (Otar Kiteishvili, min.56), Alexander Prass, Tomi Horvat, Albian Ajeti (Emanuel Emegha, min.56) and William Boving Vick (Jakob Jantscher, min.83)
Feyenoord Rotterdam:Justin Bijlow, Lutsharel Geertruida, David Hancko, Gernot Trauner, Marcos Lopez, Orkun Kokcu, Sebastian Szymanski (Marcus Holmgren Pedersen, min.68), Quinten Timber, Javairo Dilrosun, Danilo (Santiago Gimenez, min.85) and Alireza Jahanbakhsh (Patrik Walemark, min.60)
Stadium:Merkur Arena
Goals:Otar Kiteishvili (1-0, min. 90)