Sheriff 0-2 Real Sociedad: The White and Blues seal precious away win

Photo Credit: AP

Real Sociedad beat Sheriff Tiraspol with a 2-0 victory on Thursday at Zimbru. Sheriff were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 2-0 to Manchester United whilst Real were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Omonia Nicosia and Manchester United. Sheriff and Real currently occupy 3rd and 1st spots in the table, with 3 points and 9 points respectively after 3 matches.

After an uneventful first half, whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on The White and Blues who started the second half strongly, with a goal from David Silva in the 53rd minute. Real then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Aritz Elustondo on the 62 minute mark to make it 2-0.

Substitutions for Sheriff included Mudasiru Salifu, Abou Ouattara and Patrick Kpozo for Iyayi Atiemwen, Pernambuco and Felipe Vizeu, respectively. Real replaced David Silva, Alex Sola, Mikel Merino, Brais Mendez and Alexander Sorloth for Carlos Fernandez, Aritz Aranbarri, Illarramendi, Benat Turrientes and Jon Karrikaburu.

The referee booked four players. Moussa Kyabou and Iyayi Atiemwen from Sheriff, who saw yellow cards and Moussa Kyabou (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Real Alex Sola received yellows.

Sheriff will next travel to Real Sociedad, while Real will face Sheriff Tiraspol at home.

Technical card:
Sheriff Tiraspol:Maksym Koval, Gaby Kiki, Armel Zohouri, Stjepan Radeljic, Mouhamed Diop, Iyayi Atiemwen (Mudasiru Salifu, min.66), Cedric Badolo, Moussa Kyabou, Felipe Vizeu (Patrick Kpozo, min.77), Rasheed Ibrahim Akanbi and Pernambuco (Abou Ouattara, min.67)
Real Sociedad:Alex Remiro, Alex Sola (Aritz Aranbarri, min.69), Jon Pacheco, Aritz Elustondo, Diego Rico Salguero, Brais Mendez (Benat Turrientes, min.77), Ander Guevara, Mikel Merino (Illarramendi, min.77), David Silva (Carlos Fernandez, min.69), Take and Alexander Sorloth (Jon Karrikaburu, min.81)
Goals:David Silva (0-1, min. 53) and Aritz Elustondo (0-2, min. 62)