Qarabag 1-1 Freiburg: Tight tussle ends in parity

Photo Credit: AP

Qarabag could only manage a 1-1 draw against Freiburg in the last match of the Europa League Group Stage season. Following the final whistle at the end of the last match of the Europa League Group Stage season for both sides, Qarabag are now in 3rd place on the table and have 8 points while Freiburg sit in 1st with 14 points after 6 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Breisgau Brazilians, when Nils Petersen found the net on the 25 minute mark, finishing the first half 1-0.

Qarabag took the lead in the second half, when Owusu found the net just before the final whistle, seing the match finish 1-1.

Substitutions for Qarabag included Maksim Medvedev, Musa Qurbanli, Toral Bayramov, Romao and Abbas Huseynov for Ramil Sheydaev, Richard, Elvin Jafarguliyev, Marko Jankovic and Marko Vesovic, respectively. Freiburg brought on Lukas Kubler, Roland Sallai, Matthias Ginter, Woo-yeong Jeong and Vincenzo Grifo, to replace Christian Gunter, Kevin Schade, Hugo Siquet, Noah Weisshaupt and Lucas Holer.

The referee booked Bahlul Mustafazada, Marko Jankovic, Kady and Romao from Qarabag and Kevin Medina went off with a red card, while Freiburg’s Kevin Schade, Yannik Keitel and Keven Schlotterbeck also received a yellow.

Technical card:
Qarabag FK:Shakhrudin Magomedaliyev, Marko Vesovic (Abbas Huseynov, min.89), Kevin Medina, Bahlul Mustafazada, Elvin Jafarguliyev (Toral Bayramov, min.88), Kady, Marko Jankovic (Romao, min.88), Richard (Musa Qurbanli, min.88), Ramil Sheydaev (Maksim Medvedev, min.63), Owusu and Abdellah Zoubir
SC Freiburg:Noah Atubolu, Hugo Siquet (Matthias Ginter, min.73), Keven Schlotterbeck, Kiliann Sildillia, Christian Gunter (Lukas Kubler, min.46), Kevin Schade (Roland Sallai, min.68), Robert Wagner, Yannik Keitel, Noah Weisshaupt (Woo-yeong Jeong, min.73), Nils Petersen and Lucas Holer (Vincenzo Grifo, min.85)
Stadium:Azersun Arena
Goals:Nils Petersen (0-1, min. 25) and Owusu (1-1, min. 90)