Qarabag 3 – Nantes 0: The Yellow House blown away at Azersun Arena

Photo Credit: AP

Qarabag FK cruises against Nantes on a home win at Azersun Arena on Thursday. Qarabag were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 2-1 to SC Freiburg in their previous fixture. Nantes were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-1 victory against Olympiacos Piraeus. both teams are now on 3 points and occupy 2nd and 3rd places respectively after 2 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Qarabag applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Owusu in the 60th minute. Qarabag looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Abdellah Zoubir, 65 minutes in to establish a 2-0. They then extended the lead with a goal from Marko Jankovic, at 72 minutes to make it 3-0.

Substitutions for Qarabag included Ramil Sheydaev, Leandro Andrade, Richard, Romao and Musa Qurbanli for Philip Ozobic, Owusu, Marko Jankovic, Qara Garayev and Abdellah Zoubir, respectively. Nantes brought on Evann Guessand, Pedro Chirivella, Andrei, Marcus Coco and Dennis Appiah, to replace Ignatius Kpene Ganago, Moussa Sissoko, Samuel Moutoussamy, Moses Simon and Mostafa Mohamed.

There were bookings for Elvin Cafarquliyev from Qarabag. For Nantes, Andrei saw yellow.

Nantes and Qarabag will next play away to SC Freiburg and Olympiacos Piraeus respectively.

Technical card:
Qarabag FK:Shakhrudin Magomedaliyev, Marko Vesovic, Bahlul Mustafazada, Badavi Huseynov, Elvin Cafarquliyev, Philip Ozobic (Ramil Sheydaev, min.62), Marko Jankovic (Richard, min.88), Qara Garayev (Romao, min.89), Owusu (Leandro Andrade, min.88), Kady and Abdellah Zoubir (Musa Qurbanli, min.90)
Nantes:Alban Lafont, Fabio, Jean-Charles Castelletto, Nicolas Pallois, Sebastien Corchia, Ludovic Blas, Samuel Moutoussamy (Andrei, min.76), Moussa Sissoko (Pedro Chirivella, min.65), Moses Simon (Marcus Coco, min.76), Mostafa Mohamed (Dennis Appiah, min.84) and Ignatius Kpene Ganago (Evann Guessand, min.64)
Stadium:Azersun Arena
Goals:Owusu (1-0, min. 60), Abdellah Zoubir (2-0, min. 65) and Marko Jankovic (3-0, min. 72)