PSV 2 – Arsenal 0: The Gunners unable to avoid defeat at Philips Stadion

Photo Credit: AP

PSV enjoyed a home victory against Arsenal at Philips Stadion on Thursday. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. PSV were looking to continue their good run after winning their previous two matches against Zürich at home and Zürich away, by 5-0 and 5-1 respectively. Arsenal were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Bodo Glimt and Bodo Glimt. PSV are now in 2nd place, with 10 points from 5 matches, while Arsenal sit in 1st, with 12 points from 5.

After an uneventful first half, PSV certainly were out of the blocks quickly in the second half, thanks to a goal from Joey Veerman, at 55 minutes. However they weren’t finished yet and Luuk De Jong made it 2-0 in the 63rd minute to make it 2-0.

Substitutions for PSV included Luuk De Jong, Noni Madueke, Jordan Teze, Guus Til and Mauro Junior for Anwar El Ghazi, Xavi Simons, Jarrad Branthwaite, Joey Veerman and Cody Gakpo, respectively. Arsenal replaced Thomas Partey, Bukayo Saka, Gabriel Jesus, Gabriel Magalhaes and Ben White with Albert Sambi Lokonga, Martin Odegaard, Rob Holding, Kieran Tierney and Takehiro Tomiyasu.

There were bookings for Philipp Mwene and Xavi Simons from PSV, and Kieran Tierney, Gabriel Martinelli, Gabriel Jesus and Granit Xhaka, for Arsenal.

PSV will next play Bodo Glimt away, with Arsenal facing Zürich at home.

Technical card:
PSV:Walter Benitez, Philipp Mwene, Jarrad Branthwaite (Jordan Teze, min.81), Ramalho, Philipp Max, Erick Gutierrez, Ibrahim Sangare, Joey Veerman (Guus Til, min.81), Cody Gakpo (Mauro Junior, min.84), Anwar El Ghazi (Luuk De Jong, min.46) and Xavi Simons (Noni Madueke, min.80)
Arsenal:Aaron Ramsdale, Takehiro Tomiyasu (Ben White, min.74), Rob Holding (Gabriel Jesus, min.64), William Saliba, Kieran Tierney (Gabriel Magalhaes, min.74), Martin Odegaard (Bukayo Saka, min.57), Albert Sambi Lokonga (Thomas Partey, min.57), Granit Xhaka, Gabriel Martinelli, Edward Nketiah and Fabio Vieira
Stadium:Philips Stadion
Goals:Joey Veerman (1-0, min. 55) and Luuk De Jong (2-0, min. 63)