Olympiacos 0 – SC Freiburg 3: Breisgau Brazilians deliver emphatic win, at Georgios Karaiskakis

Olympiacos vs SC Freiburg
Photo Credit: AP

SC Freiburg on a 3-0 win against Olympiacos Piraeus on Thursday at Georgios Karaiskakis. Olympiacos were hoping to get something from this game after losing 2-1 to Nantes in their previous fixture. Freiburg, meanwhile, were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Qarabag FK in their last match. Olympiacos are now in 4th place on the table and have 0 points while Freiburg sit in 1st with 6 points after 2 matches.

Breisgau Brazilians didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with an early goal from Nicolas Hofler in the 5th minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Michael Gregoritsch made it 2-0, at 25 minutes and the first half ended 2-0.

Freiburg started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when Michael Gregoritsch found the net once more, at 52 minutes, to hand a welcome victory to the visitors.

Substitutions for Olympiacos included Pierre Kunde, Oleg Reabciuk, Youssef El Arabi, Garry Rodrigues and Pipa for Panagiotis Retsos, Andreas Bouchalakis, Josh Bowler, Giorgos Masouras and Sime Vrsaljko, respectively. Freiburg replaced Daniel-Kofi Kyereh, Michael Gregoritsch, Ritsu Doan, Kiliann Sildillia and Vincenzo Grifo for Woo-yeong Jeong, Kevin Schade, Nils Petersen, Lukas Kubler and Yannik Keitel.

There were bookings for Garry Rodrigues from Olympiacos. For Freiburg, Philipp Lienhart and Nicolas Hofler saw yellow.

Freiburg and Olympiacos will next play at home to Nantes and Qarabag FK respectively.

Technical card:
Olympiacos Piraeus:Tomas Vaclik, Sime Vrsaljko (Pipa, min.71), Ousseynou Ba, Pape Abou Cisse, Panagiotis Retsos (Pierre Kunde, min.46), Josh Bowler (Youssef El Arabi, min.63), Pep Biel, Andreas Bouchalakis (Oleg Reabciuk, min.46), Yann M’Vila, Giorgos Masouras (Garry Rodrigues, min.63) and Hwang Ui-Jo
SC Freiburg:Mark Flekken, Kiliann Sildillia (Lukas Kubler, min.78), Matthias Ginter, Philipp Lienhart, Christian Gunter, Ritsu Doan (Nils Petersen, min.69), Maximilian Eggestein, Nicolas Hofler, Vincenzo Grifo (Yannik Keitel, min.78), Michael Gregoritsch (Kevin Schade, min.63) and Daniel-Kofi Kyereh (Woo-yeong Jeong, min.62)
Stadium:Georgios Karaiskakis
Goals:Nicolas Hofler (0-1, min. 5), Michael Gregoritsch (0-2, min. 25) and Michael Gregoritsch (0-3, min. 52)