Nantes 2 – Qarabag 1: Visitors to the Stade de la Beaujoire leave with nothing

Photo Credit: AP

Nantes beat Qarabag FK with a 2-1 victory on Thursday at the Stade de la Beaujoire. Nantes were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 4-0 to SC Freiburg. Qarabag were unable to beat Olympiacos Piraeus in a 0-0 draw. Nantes and Qarabag sit 3rd, (6 points) and 2nd, (7 points), spots respectively, after 5 matches.

Nantes scored first, when Ludovic Blas found the net, 16 minutes in, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Qarabag took the lead in the second half, when Philip Ozobic found the net, at 56 minutes. In the end though, The Yellow House took the victory thanks to a Ignatius Kpene Ganago goal just before the final whistle. The final result, Nantes 2, Qarabag 1.

Substitutions for Nantes included Moses Simon, Moussa Sissoko, Dennis Appiah, Ignatius Kpene Ganago and Marcus Coco for Evann Guessand, Sebastien Corchia, Abdoul Kader Bamba, Samuel Moutoussamy and Pedro Chirivella, respectively. Qarabag replaced Ramil Sheydaev, Marko Jankovic, Romao, Elvin Jafarguliyev and Abbas Huseynov with Philip Ozobic, Richard, Qara Garayev, Toral Bayramov and Marko Vesovic.

There were bookings for Abdoul Kader Bamba and Andrei from Nantes, and Marko Vesovic, for Qarabag.

Nantes will next play Olympiacos Piraeus away, with Qarabag facing SC Freiburg at home.

Technical card:
Nantes:Alban Lafont, Sebastien Corchia (Moussa Sissoko, min.68), Andrei, Jean-Charles Castelletto, Quentin Merlin, Samuel Moutoussamy (Ignatius Kpene Ganago, min.79), Abdoul Kader Bamba (Dennis Appiah, min.68), Ludovic Blas, Evann Guessand (Moses Simon, min.67), Pedro Chirivella (Marcus Coco, min.89) and Mostafa Mohamed
Qarabag FK:Shakhrudin Magomedaliyev, Marko Vesovic (Abbas Huseynov, min.89), Bahlul Mustafazada, Kevin Medina, Toral Bayramov (Elvin Jafarguliyev, min.89), Kady, Qara Garayev (Romao, min.79), Richard (Marko Jankovic, min.69), Philip Ozobic (Ramil Sheydaev, min.69), Abdellah Zoubir and Owusu
Stadium:the Stade de la Beaujoire
Goals:Ludovic Blas (1-0, min. 16), Philip Ozobic (1-1, min. 56) and Ignatius Kpene Ganago (2-1, min. 90)