Ferencváros 3 – Trabzonspor 2: Visitors to Groupama Arena leave with nothing

Photo Credit: AP

Trabzonspor suffer a first loss against Ferencváros in their first match of the new Europa League Group Stage campaign. Today’s result, leave both teams on 0 points and sitting in 2nd and 3rd positions respectively, after their first match.

Ferencváros started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with an early goal from Tokmac Chol Nguen in the 5th minute. Ferencváros looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Adama Traore in the 29th minute to establish a 2-0. However, Trabzonspor refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Maxi Gomez on the 39 minute mark. However, Ferencváros increased their advantage via another Tokmac Chol Nguen goal just before half-time, which saw the first half end 3-1.

Trabzonspor took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Umut Bozok, at 71 minutes. The match ended with a 3-2 win for Ferencváros.

Substitutions for Ferencváros included Endre Botka, Aissa Laidouni, Amer Gojak and Adnan Kovacevic for Franck Boli, Balint Vecsei, Tokmac Chol Nguen and Muhamed Besic, respectively. Trabzonspor brought on Evren Eren Elmali, Yusuf Yazici, Marek Hamsik, Umut Bozok and Djaniny, to replace Vitor Hugo, Enis Bardhi, Jean-Philippe Gbamin, Abdulkadir Omur and Stefano Denswil.

The referee booked six players. Muhamed Besic, Henry Wingo, Denes Dibusz and Mats Knoester from Ferencváros, who saw yellow cards and Eldar Civic, sent off with a red, as well as for Trabzonspor Enis Bardhi received yellows.

In the second round of action in the Europa League Group Stage Ferencváros will travel to play AS Mónaco and Trabzonspor will play Red Star Belgrade at home.

Technical card:
Ferencváros:Denes Dibusz, Henry Wingo, Samy Mmaee, Mats Knoester, Eldar Civic, Adama Traore, Muhamed Besic (Adnan Kovacevic, min.90), Balint Vecsei (Aissa Laidouni, min.76), Tokmac Chol Nguen (Amer Gojak, min.77), Kristoffer Zachariassen and Franck Boli (Endre Botka, min.21)
Trabzonspor:Muhammet Taha Tepe, Jens Stryger Larsen, Vitor Hugo (Evren Eren Elmali, min.46), Marc Bartra, Stefano Denswil (Djaniny, min.74), Abdulkadir Omur (Umut Bozok, min.60), Tasos Bakasetas, Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Marek Hamsik, min.46), Enis Bardhi (Yusuf Yazici, min.46), Trezeguet and Maxi Gomez
Stadium:Groupama Arena
Goals:Tokmac Chol Nguen (1-0, min. 5), Adama Traore (2-0, min. 29), Maxi Gomez (2-1, min. 39), Tokmac Chol Nguen (3-1, min. 44) and Umut Bozok (3-2, min. 71)