Midtjylland 2-0 Sturm Graz: Home fans rewarded with victory

Photo Credit: AP

FC Midtjylland secured a 2-0 victory against SK Sturm Graz at the McH Arena on Thursday. Midtjylland were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 2-1 to Lazio in their previous fixture. Sturm Graz were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Feyenoord Rotterdam. Following the final whistle at the end of the last match of the Europa League Group Stage season for both sides, Midtjylland are now in 1st place on the table and have 8 points while Sturm Graz sit in 3rd with 8 points after 6 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Midtjylland, when Anders Dreyer gave them the lead, 15 minutes in, and they saw out the first half 1-0.

Midtjylland once more applied the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, when Anders Dreyer found the net once more, at 72 minutes. The match ended with a 2-0 win for Midtjylland.

Substitutions for Midtjylland included Oliver Sorensen, Valdemar Byskov Andreasen, Nikolas Dyhr, Juninho and Gustav Orsoe Christensen for Evander, Edward Chilufya, Paulinho, Erik Sviatchenko and Anders Dreyer, respectively. Sturm Graz brought on David Schnegg, Emanuel Emegha, Jakob Jantscher, Manprit Sarkaria and Alexandar Borkovic for Amadou Dante, William Boving Vick, Albian Ajeti, Otar Kiteishvili and David Affengruber.

There were bookings for Evander, Erik Sviatchenko and Kristoffer Olsson from Midtjylland. For Sturm Graz, Otar Kiteishvili, Amadou Dante, David Schnegg and Emanuel Emegha saw yellow.

Technical card:
FC Midtjylland:Jonas Lossl, Joel Andersson, Erik Sviatchenko (Juninho, min.90), Stefan Gartenmann, Paulinho (Nikolas Dyhr, min.67), Kristoffer Olsson, Evander (Oliver Sorensen, min.66), Emiliano Martinez, Anders Dreyer (Gustav Orsoe Christensen, min.90), Edward Chilufya (Valdemar Byskov Andreasen, min.66) and Gustav Isaksen
SK Sturm Graz:Jörg Siebenhandl, Jusuf Gazibegovic, Gregory Wuthrich, David Affengruber (Alexandar Borkovic, min.80), Amadou Dante (David Schnegg, min.46), Jon Gorenc-Stankovic, Tomi Horvat, Otar Kiteishvili (Manprit Sarkaria, min.80), Alexander Prass, William Boving Vick (Emanuel Emegha, min.46) and Albian Ajeti (Jakob Jantscher, min.74)
Stadium:the McH Arena
Goals:Anders Dreyer (1-0, min. 15) and Anders Dreyer (2-0, min. 72)