Midtjylland 2-2 Feyenoord: Entertaining draw in Norway

Photo Credit: AP

On Thursday, Midtjylland and Feyenoord played out a 2-2 draw at the McH Arena. Both Midtjylland and Feyenoord arrived at the challenge after previous wins. Midtjylland were looking to continue their good run, following a 5-1 victory against Lazio. Feyenoord were coming off the back of a 6-0 win against SK Sturm Graz. both teams are now on 4 points and sit in 2nd and 1st places respectively after 3 matches.

Feyenoord started the first half well, when Sebastian Szymanski gave them the lead, 21 minutes in. Feyenoord then scored once more and increased their lead thanks to a penalty goal from Orkun Kokcu just before half-time to secure a 2-0 win.

Midtjylland fought back, when Gustav Isaksen found the net in the 54th minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Juninho made it 2-2 just before the full time to give a final score of 2-2.

Substitutions for Midtjylland included Juninho, Anders Dreyer, Edward Chilufya, Mads Dohr Thychosen and Nikolas Dyhr for Erik Sviatchenko, Sory Kaba, Pione Sisto, Joel Andersson and Paulinho, respectively. Feyenoord brought on Alireza Jahanbakhsh, Patrik Walemark, Marcus Holmgren Pedersen, Santiago Gimenez and Mats Wieffer, to replace Oussama Idrissi, Orkun Kokcu, Javairo Dilrosun, Sebastian Szymanski and Danilo.

There were bookings for Erik Sviatchenko, Henrik Dalsgaard, Evander, Juninho, Emiliano Martinez and Paulinho from Midtjylland, and Marcos Lopez, David Hancko and Alireza Jahanbakhsh, for Feyenoord.

Midtjylland will next travel to Feyenoord Rotterdam, while Feyenoord will face FC Midtjylland at home.

Technical card:
FC Midtjylland:Jonas Lossl, Joel Andersson (Mads Dohr Thychosen, min.74), Henrik Dalsgaard, Erik Sviatchenko (Juninho, min.46), Paulinho (Nikolas Dyhr, min.84), Evander, Kristoffer Olsson, Emiliano Martinez, Sory Kaba (Anders Dreyer, min.46), Gustav Isaksen and Pione Sisto (Edward Chilufya, min.74)
Feyenoord Rotterdam:Justin Bijlow, Lutsharel Geertruida, David Hancko, Gernot Trauner, Marcos Lopez, Orkun Kokcu (Patrik Walemark, min.66), Javairo Dilrosun (Marcus Holmgren Pedersen, min.66), Quinten Timber, Danilo (Mats Wieffer, min.80), Sebastian Szymanski (Santiago Gimenez, min.79) and Oussama Idrissi (Alireza Jahanbakhsh, min.32)
Stadium:the McH Arena
Goals:Sebastian Szymanski (0-1, min. 21), Orkun Kokcu (0-2, min. 45), Gustav Isaksen (1-2, min. 54) and Juninho (2-2, min. 85)