Monaco 3-1 Trabzonspor: Visitors leave the Stade Louis II empty handed

Photo Credit: AP

AS Mónaco eased past Trabzonspor in a 3-1 victory on Thursday at the Stade Louis II. Monaco arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 1-0 to Ferencváros. Trabzonspor were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Red Star Belgrade in their last match. Monaco are currently 1st with 6 points from 3 matches, while Trabzonspor sit in 4th, with 3 points from 3.

The first half of the match started well for Monaco, when Wissam Ben Yedder gave them the lead, at 14 minutes. Monaco then netted once more and increased their advantage thanks to a penalty second effort from Wissam Ben Yedder just before half-time, concluding the first half 2-0.

The Monégasques started the second half with an intensified spirit, thanks to a goal from Axel Disasi in the 55th minute. Trabzonspor in turn, then responded, 72 minutes in, grabbing the lead with an effort from Tasos Bakasetas, leaving the final score at 3-1.

Substitutions for Monaco included Kevin Volland, Myron Boadu, Jean Lucas, Guillermo Maripan and Takumi Minamino for Breel Embolo, Wissam Ben Yedder, Mohamed Camara, Vanderson and Aleksandr Golovin, respectively. Trabzonspor brought on Umut Bozok, Tasos Bakasetas, Djaniny, Abdulkadir Omur and Naci Unuvar, to replace Yusuf Yazici, Marek Hamsik, Trezeguet, Manolis Siopis and Enis Bardhi.

The referee booked Vanderson and Krepin Diatta from Monaco. Trabzonspor had the worst of it though, with Stefano Denswil seeing yellow, and Maxi Gomez then sent off with a red.

Monaco will play their next fixture away against Trabzonspor, while Trabzonspor will face AS Mónaco at home.

Technical card:
AS Mónaco:Alexander Nubel, Vanderson (Guillermo Maripan, min.65), Benoit Badiashile, Axel Disasi, Caio Henrique, Krepin Diatta, Mohamed Camara (Jean Lucas, min.65), Youssouf Fofana, Aleksandr Golovin (Takumi Minamino, min.73), Wissam Ben Yedder (Myron Boadu, min.57) and Breel Embolo (Kevin Volland, min.57)
Trabzonspor:Ugurcan Cakir, Jens Stryger Larsen, Stefano Denswil, Marc Bartra, Evren Eren Elmali, Trezeguet (Djaniny, min.73), Yusuf Yazici (Umut Bozok, min.56), Marek Hamsik (Tasos Bakasetas, min.56), Manolis Siopis (Abdulkadir Omur, min.73), Enis Bardhi (Naci Unuvar, min.82) and Maxi Gomez
Stadium:the Stade Louis II
Goals:Wissam Ben Yedder (1-0, min. 14), Wissam Ben Yedder (2-0, min. 45), Axel Disasi (3-0, min. 55) and Tasos Bakasetas (3-1, min. 72)