Wigan Athletic 1-1 West Brom: Honours even at the Dw Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

On Tuesday, Wigan Athletic and West Brom were held to a 1-1 draw at Dw Stadium. Wigan Athletic were looking forward to meeting again, following a previous defeat to Burnley. West Brom are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. After today’s result, Wigan Athletic and West Brom currently occupy 18th and 12th spots in the league, with 7 points and 8 points respectively after 7 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Wigan Athletic, when Josh Magennis gave Wigan Athletic the lead after only 6 minutes. However, their lead was short lived, as Karlan Grant equalised for West Brom in the 22nd minute to see out the first half 1-1. Both teams unable to deliver anything further, the score remained at 1-1 at full time.

Wigan Athletic brought on Charlie Wyke, Nathan Broadhead and Thelo Aasgaard for Will Keane, Josh Magennis and Tom Naylor. West Brom brought on Darnell Furlong, Jake Livermore and Matthew Phillips, to replace Semi Ajayi, Okay Yokuslu and Jayson Molumby.

There were bookings for Josh Magennis and James McClean from Wigan Athletic, and Jayson Molumby and Matthew Phillips, for West Brom.

Wigan Athletic will next play Luton Town away, with West Brom facing Burnley at home.

Technical card:
Wigan Athletic:Ben Amos, Max Power, Jack Whatmough, Will Keane (Charlie Wyke, min.71), Graeme Shinnie, Curtis Tilt, Ryan Nyambe, Tom Naylor (Thelo Aasgaard, min.78), James McClean, Josh Magennis (Nathan Broadhead, min.71) and Jason Kerr
West Bromwich Albion:Karlan Grant, John Swift, Okay Yokuslu (Jake Livermore, min.60), Kyle Bartley, Conor Townsend, Jed Wallace, Dara O’Shea, Jayson Molumby (Matthew Phillips, min.78), Semi Ajayi (Darnell Furlong, min.20), Grady Diangana and David Button
Stadium:Dw Stadium
Goals:Josh Magennis (1-0, min. 6) and Karlan Grant (1-1, min. 22)