Watford 2-3 QPR: The Hornets suffer home loss to Rangers

Photo Credit: AP

Queens Park Rangers snatched all three points from Watford in a 3-2 victory on Saturday, at Vicarage Road. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Watford wanted to improve their league standing after a scoreless draw against Preston North End in their previous match while QPR secured a point against Rotherham United in their previous match. As it stands, Watford are in 4th place, with 9 points from 6 matches, while QPR sit in 9th, with 8 points from 6.

QPR started strongly in the first half, with a goal from Ilias Chair in the 18th minute. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Ken Sema managed to equalize and take the sides off, 27 minutes in at 1-1. However, Rangers in the 34th minute reestablished their lead via a Chris Willock goal and saw the first half out 2-1.

The Hornets started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with an early goal from Joao Pedro in the 50th minute. In the end though, QPR, 70 minutes in took the victory thanks to a Albert Adomah goal. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 3-2 to QPR.

Both teams used all available substitutes. Substitutions for Watford included Yaser Asprilla and Vakoun Issouf Bayo for Rey Manaj and Mario Gaspar, repectively, QPR brought on Albert Adomah, Sinclair Armstrong, Osman Kakay and Conor Masterson, to replace Lyndon Dykes, Ilias Chair, Chris Willock and Stefan Johansen.

There were bookings for Joao Pedro, Edo Kayembe, Hassane Kamara and Christian Kabasele from Watford. For QPR, Stefan Johansen, Seny Dieng and Andre Dozzell saw yellow.

Watford next face Middlesbrough and QPR are at home to Hull City.

Technical card:
Watford:Daniel Bachmann, Ismaila Sarr, Edo Kayembe, Mario Gaspar (Vakoun Issouf Bayo, min.82), Christian Kabasele, Francisco Sierralta, Hassane Kamara, Ken Sema, Joao Pedro, Rey Manaj (Yaser Asprilla, min.31) and Hamza Choudhury
Queens Park Rangers:Seny Dieng, Sam Field, Ethan Laird, Jimmy Dunne, Andre Dozzell, Kenneth Paal, Ilias Chair (Sinclair Armstrong, min.80), Lyndon Dykes (Albert Adomah, min.61), Chris Willock (Osman Kakay, min.88), Stefan Johansen (Conor Masterson, min.88) and Rob Dickie
Stadium:Vicarage Road
Goals:Ilias Chair (0-1, min. 18), Ken Sema (1-1, min. 27), Chris Willock (1-2, min. 34), Joao Pedro (2-2, min. 50) and Albert Adomah (2-3, min. 70)