Watford 2-1 Middlesbrough: Boro’s struggles continue with loss at Vicarage Road

Photo Credit: AP

Watford enjoyed a mesmerising home victory against Middlesbrough at Vicarage Road on Tuesday. Watford were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 3-2 to Queens Park Rangers. Boro were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Swansea City in their last match. After today’s result, Watford are in 4th place in the table and have 12 points while Boro sit in 20th with 6 points after 7 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Boro, with an early goal from Rodrigo Muniz in the 4th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Ismaila Sarr equalised for The Hornets at the 24 minute mark, which saw the first half end 1-1.

Watford rallied after this and were rewarded, when Vakoun Issouf Bayo found the net just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Both teams used all available substitutes. Substitutions for Watford included Vakoun Issouf Bayo, Mario Gaspar and Kortney Hause for Yaser Asprilla, Ken Sema and Craig Cathcart, repectively, Boro brought on Anfernee Dijksteel, Dael Fry and Marc Bola, to replace Jonny Howson, Darragh Lenihan and Paddy McNair.

There were bookings for Francisco Sierralta and Hamza Choudhury from Watford. For Boro, Matt Crooks, Isaiah Jones, Paddy McNair and Riley McGree saw yellow.

Watford will next play Rotherham United away, with Boro facing Sunderland AFC at home.

Technical card:
Watford:Daniel Bachmann, Ismaila Sarr, Edo Kayembe, Hamza Choudhury, Christian Kabasele, Francisco Sierralta, Yaser Asprilla (Vakoun Issouf Bayo, min.73), Craig Cathcart (Kortney Hause, min.80), Hassane Kamara, Ken Sema (Mario Gaspar, min.79) and Joao Pedro
Middlesbrough:Liam Roberts, Jonny Howson (Anfernee Dijksteel, min.46), Darragh Lenihan (Dael Fry, min.56), Isaiah Jones, Paddy McNair (Marc Bola, min.90), Matt Crooks, Rodrigo Muniz, Riley McGree, Matt Clarke, Alex Mowatt and Ryan Giles
Stadium:Vicarage Road
Goals:Rodrigo Muniz (0-1, min. 4), Ismaila Sarr (1-1, min. 24) and Vakoun Issouf Bayo (2-1, min. 90)