Swansea 2 – Wigan Athletic 2: Points shared with visitors at Liberty Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Swansea and Wigan Athletic played out a 2-2 draw at Liberty Stadium. Both teams came from defeats in their previous league games. Swansea were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 1-0 to Preston North End, while Wigan Athletic had lost their previous match against Stoke City. Swansea and Wigan Athletic currently occupy 9th and 23rd spots in the table, with 29 points and 20 points respectively after 20 matches.

Wigan Athletic dominated the first half, when Will Keane gave them the lead, 8 minutes in. Wigan Athletic looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Tom Naylor, at 16 minutes to establish a 2-0. The Swans in turn, then responded just before half-time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Ryan Manning, ending the first half 2-1.

Swansea took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Joel Piroe, 84 minutes in, to level the score at 2-2.

Substitutions for Swansea included Jamie Paterson, Olivier Ntcham, Kyle Naughton and Matthew Sorinola for Armstrong Oko-Flex, Michael Obafemi, Ben Cabango and Luke Cundle, respectively. Wigan Athletic brought on Thelo Aasgaard, Callum Lang, Josh Magennis, Joe Bennett and Graeme Shinnie, to replace James McClean, Nathan Broadhead, Charlie Wyke, Jason Kerr and Tom Naylor.

There were bookings for Oliver Cooper and Ryan Manning from Swansea. For Wigan Athletic, Will Keane and Josh Magennis saw yellow.

Swansea will next play Huddersfield Town away, with Wigan Athletic facing Blackpool at home.

Technical card:
Swansea City:Ryan Manning, Armstrong Oko-Flex (Jamie Paterson, min.46), Michael Obafemi (Olivier Ntcham, min.62), Ben Cabango (Kyle Naughton, min.62), Luke Cundle (Matthew Sorinola, min.63), Oliver Cooper and Joel Piroe
Wigan Athletic:Will Keane, Tom Naylor (Graeme Shinnie, min.85), James McClean (Thelo Aasgaard, min.60), Nathan Broadhead (Callum Lang, min.60), Charlie Wyke (Josh Magennis, min.73) and Jason Kerr (Joe Bennett, min.85)
Stadium:Liberty Stadium
Goals:Will Keane (0-1, min. 8), Tom Naylor (0-2, min. 16), Ryan Manning (1-2, min. 43) and Joel Piroe (2-2, min. 84)