Swansea 1-0 QPR: Rangers unable to avoid defeat at Liberty Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Swansea City eased past Queens Park Rangers in a 1-0 victory on Saturday at Liberty Stadium. Swansea were looking for a victory after a 1-1 draw against Stoke City. QPR were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Hull City and Watford. Swansea and QPR are 17th, (9 points) and 9th, (11 points), in the table respectively, after 8 matches.

Swansea scored first, when Joel Piroe gave them the lead in the 21st minute to see them go in at half time 1-0 up. Both teams unable to deliver anything further, the score remained at 1-0 at full time.

Substitutions for Swansea included Armstrong Oko-Flex, Liam Cullen, Fin Stevens, Luke Cundle and Jay Fulton for Jamie Paterson, Matthew Sorinola, Liam Cullen, Joe Allen and Oliver Cooper, respectively. QPR brought on Tyler Roberts, Albert Adomah, Tim Iroegbunam, Leon Balogun and Sinclair Armstrong, to replace Lyndon Dykes, Andre Dozzell, Sam Field, Rob Dickie and Chris Willock.

The referee booked Matt Grimes, Jamie Paterson and Joel Piroe for Swansea.

Swansea will play their next fixture away against Birmingham City, while QPR will face Huddersfield Town at home.

Technical card:
Swansea City:Steven Benda, Nathan Wood-Gordon, Oliver Cooper (Jay Fulton, min.74), Ryan Manning, Kyle Naughton, Matthew Sorinola (Liam Cullen, min.60), Joel Piroe, Jamie Paterson (Armstrong Oko-Flex, min.60), Matt Grimes, Joe Allen (Luke Cundle, min.74) and Ben Cabango
Queens Park Rangers:Seny Dieng, Andre Dozzell (Albert Adomah, min.70), Lyndon Dykes (Tyler Roberts, min.61), Ethan Laird, Chris Willock (Sinclair Armstrong, min.82), Ilias Chair, Sam Field (Tim Iroegbunam, min.70), Stefan Johansen, Kenneth Paal, Jimmy Dunne and Rob Dickie (Leon Balogun, min.82)
Stadium:Liberty Stadium
Goals:Joel Piroe (1-0, min. 21)