Swansea 2-2 Millwall: Lions take good point in entertaining draw at the Liberty

Photo Credit: AP

Swansea were held to 2-2 draw by Millwall down on Tuesday at Liberty Stadium. Both Swansea and Millwall arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Swansea were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run, following a 1-0 victory against Blackpool. Millwall were coming off the back of a 3-2 win against Coventry City. After today’s result, Swansea and Millwall sit 12th, (5 points) and 4th, (7 points), in the league respectively, after 4 matches.

Swansea started the first half well, with an early goal from Ryan Manning in the 1st minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Michael Obafemi, 12 minutes in, to take a 2-0 lead into half time.

Millwall took the lead in the second half, when Ben Cabango found the net, at 90 minutes. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a calamitous own goal from Nathan Wood-Gordon just before the final whistle to make it 2-2.

Substitutions for Swansea included Matthew Sorinola, Jay Fulton, Ben Cabango and Cameron Congreve for Joel Latibeaudiere, Joe Allen, Ryan Manning and Olivier Ntcham, repectively. Millwall brought on Shaun Hutchinson, George Saville, Ryan Leonard and Andreas Voglsammer, to replace Jake Cooper, Jamie Shackleton, Charlie Cresswell and Billy Mitchell.

There were bookings for Ryan Manning and Michael Obafemi from Swansea. For Millwall, Tyler Burey, Billy Mitchell and Scott Malone saw yellow.

Swansea will next play Luton Town at home, with Millwall facing Norwich City away.

Technical card:
Swansea City:Andy Fisher, Joel Piroe, Kyle Naughton, Ryan Manning (Ben Cabango, min.75), Joel Latibeaudiere (Matthew Sorinola, min.20), Nathan Wood-Gordon, Olivier Ntcham (Cameron Congreve, min.76), Michael Obafemi, Matt Grimes, Joe Allen (Jay Fulton, min.68) and Harry Darling
Millwall:Danny McNamara, Charlie Cresswell (Ryan Leonard, min.64), George Honeyman, Murray Wallace, Jamie Shackleton (George Saville, min.64), Bartosz Bialkowski, Tyler Burey, Scott Malone, Billy Mitchell (Andreas Voglsammer, min.75), Benik Afobe and Jake Cooper (Shaun Hutchinson, min.64)
Stadium:Liberty Stadium
Goals:Ryan Manning (1-0, min. 1), Michael Obafemi (2-0, min. 12), Ben Cabango (2-1, min. 90) and Nathan Wood-Gordon (2-2, min. 90)