Sunderland 3-0 Rotherham: The Millers ship three as unbeaten start ends

Photo Credit: AP

Sunderland AFC’s 3-0 win over Rotherham United on Wednesday, was hard fought at Stadium of Light. Sunderland AFC were hoping to get something from this game after losing 1-0 to Norwich City in their last match. Rotherham had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 2-0 victory against Birmingham City. Sunderland AFC are now in 7th place, with 11 points from 7 matches, while Rotherham sit in 11th, with 9 points from 7.

After a goalless first half, whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Sunderland AFC who started the second half strongly, when Ross Stewart gave them the lead in the 52nd minute. Sunderland AFC looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a second effort from Ross Stewart, at 65 minutes to establish a 2-0. Sunderland AFC then scored again and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Jack Clarke in the 70th minute to give a final score of 3-0.

Substitutions for Sunderland AFC included Patrick Roberts, Bailey Wright and Elliot Embleton for Alex Pritchard, Jack Clarke and Dan Neill, respectively. Rotherham brought on Tom Eaves, Scott High, Jamie McCart, Jamie Lindsay and Georgie Kelly, to replace Conor Washington, Shane Ferguson, Wes Harding, Daniel Barlaser and Chiedozie Ogbene.

The referee booked four players from Rotherham, Lee Peltier, Brooke Norton-Cuffy, Daniel Barlaser and Shane Ferguson.

Sunderland AFC will next play Middlesbrough away, with Rotherham facing Watford at home.

Technical card:
Sunderland AFC:Danny Batth, Anthony Patterson, Ross Stewart, Dennis Cirkin, Alex Pritchard (Patrick Roberts, min.68), Ellis Reco Simms, Luke O’Nien, Dan Neill (Elliot Embleton, min.88), Lynden Gooch, Corry Evans and Jack Clarke (Bailey Wright, min.84)
Rotherham United:Viktor Johansson, Conor Washington (Tom Eaves, min.64), Lee Peltier, Wes Harding (Jamie McCart, min.76), Shane Ferguson (Scott High, min.68), Oliver Rathbone, Chiedozie Ogbene (Georgie Kelly, min.76), Brooke Norton-Cuffy, Ben Wiles, Richard Wood and Daniel Barlaser (Jamie Lindsay, min.76)
Stadium:Stadium of Light
Goals:Ross Stewart (1-0, min. 52), Ross Stewart (2-0, min. 65) and Jack Clarke (3-0, min. 70)