QPR 2-1 Wigan Athletic: The R’s edge the win after early exchanges

Photo Credit: AP

Queens Park Rangers banked all three points against the Wigan Athletic in a 2-1 victory on Saturday, at Loftus Road Stadium. QPR were looking to pick up points after winning last match, while Wigan Athletic had lost their previous match against Middlesbrough. QPR are now in 1st place, with 30 points from 17 matches, while Wigan Athletic sit in 19th, with 19 points from 17.

It was an impressive opening from QPR, when Sam Field gave them the lead, 12 minutes in. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Nathan Broadhead, 22 minutes in brought Wigan Athletic level. Rangers in turn, then responded in the 24th minute, grabbing the lead with an effort from Leon Balogun, finishing the first half 2-1. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the match ended 2-1.

Substitutions for QPR included Andre Dozzell, Luke Amos, Rob Dickie, Taylor Richards and Macauley Bonne for Stefan Johansen, Sinclair Armstrong, Tim Iroegbunam, Ilias Chair and Lyndon Dykes, respectively. Wigan Athletic brought on Thelo Aasgaard, Tom Naylor, Josh Magennis, Ashley Fletcher and Rarmani Edmonds-Green, to replace Tendayi Darikwa, Jordan Cousins, Nathan Broadhead, Will Keane and Jack Whatmough.

There were bookings for Taylor Richards from QPR. For Wigan Athletic, Curtis Tilt and Graeme Shinnie saw yellow.

QPR will next play Birmingham City away, with Wigan Athletic facing Watford at home.

Technical card:
Queens Park Rangers:Sam Field, Leon Balogun, Stefan Johansen (Andre Dozzell, min.45), Sinclair Armstrong (Luke Amos, min.46), Tim Iroegbunam (Rob Dickie, min.65), Ilias Chair (Taylor Richards, min.89) and Lyndon Dykes (Macauley Bonne, min.90)
Wigan Athletic:Curtis Tilt, Nathan Broadhead (Josh Magennis, min.79), Tendayi Darikwa (Thelo Aasgaard, min.72), Jordan Cousins (Tom Naylor, min.72), Will Keane (Ashley Fletcher, min.79), Jack Whatmough (Rarmani Edmonds-Green, min.84) and Graeme Shinnie
Stadium:Loftus Road Stadium
Goals:Sam Field (1-0, min. 12), Nathan Broadhead (1-1, min. 22) and Leon Balogun (2-1, min. 24)