Notts Forest v Sheff Utd – Penalties success puts Forest in Playoff Final

Photo Credit: AP

After two matches and extra time, it took a penalty shoot out to decide the result, which eliminated Sheffield U from the competition. When the two sides previously met at Bramall Lane, the score ended 1-2. With this triumph, Forest will fight for the title of Champion during the final of the Championship.

Red dogs started strongly in the first half, thanks to a goal from Brennan Johnson at the 19 minute mark. However, their lead was short lived, as Morgan Gibbs-White equalised for The Blades just before half-time, which saw the first half end 1-1.

Sheffield U continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from John Fleck in the 75th minute, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Although the game concluded 2-1 extra time was necessary, since both teams were tied. In the first half neither team scored a goal so it finalised 2-1.

Finally, the result didn’t change so the match finalised 2-1.

After the extension, the winner of the match was decided during the penalty round. Of the two teams, Forest took the victory after being imposed by a score of 3 – 2 penalties in the round.

For Forest, Joe Lolley, Keinan Davis and Cafu, came on for Philip Zinckernagel, Sam Surridge and James Garner. Sheffield U brought on Ben Osborn and Conor Hourihane, to replace George Baldock and John Fleck.

There were bookings for Scott McKenna, Joe Worrall and Steve Cook from Forest, and Jack Robinson, for Sheffield U.

With this win, Red dogs has only the final of the Championship to become the new Champion of the season.

Technical card:
Nottingham Forest:Brice Samba, Ryan Yates, James Garner (Cafu, min.119), Djed Spence, Scott McKenna, Steve Cook, Brennan Johnson, Sam Surridge (Keinan Davis, min.76), Philip Zinckernagel (Joe Lolley, min.71), Jack Colback and Joe Worrall
Sheffield United:Wes Foderingham, John Fleck (Conor Hourihane, min.109), Iliman Ndiaye, George Baldock (Ben Osborn, min.108), Sander Berge, Morgan Gibbs-White, Oliver Norwood, Rhys Norrington-Davies, Jack Robinson, John Egan and Chris Basham
Stadium:the City Ground
Goals:Brennan Johnson (1-0, min. 19), Morgan Gibbs-White (1-1, min. 47) and John Fleck (1-2, min. 75)